We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic pizza and Pasta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papa's Italian Kitchen

Papa's Italian Kitchen
Ranked #63 of 170 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Formerly Pizza Bar Nelson, Papa's Kitchen has undergone a transformation with new owners. Serving pasta, gourmet pizzas, salads, desserts and coffee, and fully licensed. Warm friendly service and comfortable happy atmosphere.
FEILDING
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza and Pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a great little restaurant, serving the most delicious pizza and pasta. Wonderful friendly service, and surprises of complimentary dishes while we waited. Ate here twice over our four day stay, and definitely our favourite little eating place in Nelson.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jillobFeilding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you haven't been you should!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Another great meal with the best service from Amir & the lovely international wait staff. This really is one of our favourite places to: relax, eat great food, share good wine & enjoy the atmosphere. Whether its a walk in or we have booked we are always very pleased we have been & look forward to going again. If you haven't been yet you really should give it a go you'll be back more than once!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

My favorite pizza place in Nelson, very nice pizza with much topping (I like lots of topping) at very reasonable prices. Beer is only in bottles but again at reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere and very good staff. Owner always looks after his customers and often offers free extras (especially for regulars or groups). Can be quite full at times though, so booking can be important at weekends.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wait of over an hour”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Took my 3 children for a celebratory meal after completing the Abel Tasman trek. Unfortunately the 1 hour wait for the pizzas deflated the occasion. Watched other annoyed customers wait equally long.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly and quick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stopped in for a quick dinner. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We ordered pizzas and they made them to order - changing from what was on the menu. Reasonably priced and tasty pizza. Just what we were looking for!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa's Italian Kitchen also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson-Tasman Region, South Island
 

Been to Papa's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing