We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger in town”

East Street Vegetarian Cafe and Bar
Ranked #10 of 179 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best burger in town”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Had the mvp burger and it is seriously the best burger I have ever had. The chips were fantastic aswell as great service.

Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    49
    10
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We're regulars at East St and have watched it's reputation and patronage grow from word of mouth. Neither my partner nor I are vegetarian, but the food here is so good you absolutely don't miss the meat at all. The platters are *excellent* value (and a medium one is definitely enough for two people), and we have them every other time we go. With a recent menu facelift there are lots of new dishes to try. Most recently we had the beer battered vege as an entree (the dark dipping sauce is amazeballs, it also comes with a satay dipping sauce), then giant cheese stuffed bean balls (HUGE pile of herby mash potatoe with it) and the stuffed roasted vegetables. The beer battered veg were the winners of the day, but the green salad (which comes with the mains) is simply the tastiest I've ever had - I've never ever enthused about salad before. So good.
Friendly welcoming alternative hosts and great atmosphere, this place is simply the best in Nelson.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Glacier
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome place to have some food and a drink”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great quirky place with an extensive vegetarian menu. I was dubious as it is vegetarian but found it very filling and beautiful food (Local Produce). Also found it has some of the best entertainment in Nelson

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
temple city
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best salads in NZ!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile


Went there three times in four days. One of the rare places in South Island that had salads as a main. Great friendly vibe. Order at counter. Cash only. Large portions. Had warm Asian noodle salad and friends had bean balls and falafel burger. There were plenty of vegan and gluten free options available. It is a little hard to find. You have to walk down the driveway of the accents on the park hostel and the restaurant door will be on your right. The sign makes it look like a pub. So happy to have tried this place on a recommendation from a hot yoga instructor.

Helpful?
1 Thank ltaimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It would be easy to walk past this little restaurant / cafe / bar hidden beneath a backpacker lodge, but I'm glad I didn't. They had only re-opened a few days prior, and the place was absolutely packed, with diners ranging from backpackers to older locals, and everything in between, all having a great time and great food. The menu is excellent, and my (non-vegetarian) companion was equally impressed. The serves are huge, delicious and filling. Despite the chaos of serving far too many people at once, the staff were friendly and helpful. The acoustic live music added to what was already a wonderful atmosphere.
Highly recommended if you are in Nelson, even if you're not vegetarian.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Street Vegetarian Cafe and Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to East Street Vegetarian Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing