We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly lovely central and quaint”
other travellers have booked this property
The kitchen/living area which has french doors leading to the  courtyard and garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The kitchen/living area which has french doors leading to the  courtyard and garden.
Our house is 106 years old , the self contained apt. is on the ground floor leading into the garden Another view of the kitchen looking out to the courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The kitchen/living area which has french doors leading to the  courtyard and garden.
Our house is 106 years old , the self contained apt. is on the ground floor leading into the garden
Another view of the kitchen looking out to the courtyard
Everything you need for self catering is here, and we have a new stove with a fab oven......
Huge bedroom, queen bed, new flat screen telly, wonderful original art , quirky decor.
more of bedroom, lovely bay window and writing desk. Free wifi connection
Quirky bathroom, cork flooring, shower with safety rails.
looking outside, need more pics to do the garden justice
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
carolk50
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfectly lovely central and quaint”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I have stayed at this lovely place once on buisness for two days it was fantastic and I've since tried to re book several times but it is very popular I strongly recommend this if you like something that is self contained,private,with its own wee garden and seating area outside great bed and a lovely host Christine,walking distance to many resturants,gardens,gallery's,shops,museum, movie theatre,supermarkets and many beautiful walks.
Book in advance!

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelinW...
Laupahoehoe, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Recommend this place in a heartbeat”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We echo what the previous reviewer wrote exactly! We liked this place so much that we extended our stay and would return if we are so fortunate to travel to Nelson again. The location is great, the place spotless, and Christine and Lincoln are very kind. My husband felt that Christine was the ultimate problem-solver. We loved the rugs, the shower is a work of art, lighter than air old kitchen chairs, electric blanket. We ate in two nights and everything you need was there - unlike many self-catering units where the bare necessities for cooking are not there. Plus, we were able to pick salad greens, tomatoes, and grapes to enjoy.If you don't have it - whatever "it" is, Christine is probably on her way down the stairs with it. Thank you for putting your heart into creating this warm, cozy, lovely space with all the little touches and it's clean.. very clean. And remember the previous reviewer took all his/her words directly from our mouths.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting and Christine
Liked least: Nothing really comes to mind.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OregonKit...
eugene
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, Comfortable and Immaculate”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This place should not be missed. Really.

We have been traveling all over New Zealand, staying at lots of very nice places, but we like this one the best so far!

It could be that the place was much more spacious, light-filled and comfortable than even the photos suggest. It could be that the location was ridiculously awesome, with a fantastic garden spot and super cute private patio tucked away in a lush surrounding just a 1 minute walk from downtown and the cathedral and the farmer's market. It could be that the space was immaculately clean and that the bed was very comfortable and there was brandy and chocolate and a nice hot shower waiting for us at the end of a hard day's cycling.

But it probably was that the host, Christine, who is a fun and upbeat person, went over the top to accommodate us with garden goodies, laundry and even bike suitcase storage while we cycled Takaka and Wainui bay area. Christine is, by definition, the perfect host. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndsay r
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Cathedral Garden in early April this year. It was a perfect place to stay before heading to the West Coast. The apartment is on the ground floor ( easy access) adjacent to a really beautiful garden. Check out the vege's!! It was a relaxing place to sit even in the early autumn. The place is clean and comfortable; has excellent cooking facilities and wifi available. We had parking outside and could walk to the centre of Nelson in 5 minutes. Christine is a cheerful host was really helpful and knows her city well. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the general ambiance of the property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron-of-Ch...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming central apartment”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely character apartment in attractive sunny garden setting. So quiet you would hardly believe you we're so close to central Nelson. Leafy peaceful street just behind cathedral in lovely neighbourhood. Easy walk to city centre and local attractions. Good sized apartment very tastefully decorated and well appointed. Very helpful and friendly owners. We really enjoyed our stay and plan to return. Ron and Mary

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devin F
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic apartment, central location”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Brilliant garden apartment in the heart of Nelson. Christine went out of her way to ensure there were toys and books for our little one. We really enjoyed our stay here and the garden was amazing.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacq1950
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly peaceful but right in Nelson city”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

It's hard to believe you're just 2 minutes from town in this little hideaway, tucked into a lovely garden (they shared some fresh beans with me) behind a Victorian villa.
Spacious rooms full of art and character, and very friendly and helpful hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunny sitting area at the back of the apartment.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;