We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments
Ipswich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great views and location”
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in March 2010 in the Loft apartment. Room and bedroom was great with fantastic views over the sea. We had plenty of room as there were just the two of us, but would be excellent for a family as well.
Although this was not an issue for us, be aware that the property is on a steepish hill with parking on the road, also it is a long walk into Nelson itself, so a car is recommended.
Several good restaurants nearby and a good base for exploring Abel Tasman Park - about 30-45 mins away by car.
If we had known the area better in advance, we would have stayed longer, but you can't see everything unfortunately! If we get back to NZ, we would definitely stay here again.
Another word of caution if staying in the Loft - and this was our own fault - the smoke detector is sensitive and the master fire alarm is in the Loft . We cooked some bacon (I think) , and alarms went off in all the apartments. Better safe than sorry, but my apologies to the other guests!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob&val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamVilla10_Nelson, Owner at Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
We have just received a letter from a prospective guest who read this review, and was concerned that they may have to carry luggage up a steep hill. This is most certainly not the case. Parking for Villa 10 is in a lay-by on Richardson St. directly opposite the apartments, and a horizontal walk across the street to the entrance.
Incidentally Richardson St is the least steep street on the Port Hills of Nelson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
48
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

It felt like a real privilege to stay in Villa 10's West Wing. There was plenty of room for us and our two teenagers in the beautifully decorated house, and the view from the balcony was wonderful and changed continuously during the day. The owners very thoughtfully left milk, real coffee, fruit and cereal for our breakfast, made us welcome then left us alone while still being available when we needed them. I'd recommend this house without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We stayed at Villa 10 for three nights during our April vacation. The views were unbelievable and the Villa's artistic decorations added flair and warmth to an already beautiful space. The Villa was perfectly located to all of our exploring in the nearby areas, and we couldn't have asked for kinder friendlier hosts. We had a wonderful time in the Villa and would stay there again without a doubt if we were ever in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinC_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

The following review has been submitted:
Stayed at Villa 10 for 3 nights in February. A large, beautifully furnished apartment with balcony overlooking bay - amazing views and sunsets. Very well equipped and enough
breakfast supplies for a few days. A very private apartment which was very relaxing. Great restaurants nearby and Nelson approx 25 mins away walking. A great base for exploring the Nelson region and further afield. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We stayed in the West Wing and enjoyed the large lounge room, comfy beds, clean bathroom and roomy kitchen. It was ideal for us..a couple and friend. We spent most of our time on the beautiful verandah enjoying local fish, cheese and wine while watching boats on the bay. A very comfortable and charming apartment with lovely'owners. There is so much to do in the area with beautiful national parks, beaches, artists, winery and artisan foods..and great restaurants..Hopgoods is stunning.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights, xmas eve & day and didn't want to leave. We booked the loft apartment which was huge! It was the best place we stayed in NZ. The views from the balcony were amazing. The hosts were very helpful and they stocked up our fridge with breakfast items. Had a fab time here and Nelson it a great place!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gutwrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

This was our second visit to Villa 10 in 12 months, we loved it so much the first time, we just had to come back and stay for longer in the fantastic Loft apartment, and weren't disappointed.

Graham and Jenny can be really proud about what they have achieved here.

Once you're checked in and shown the ropes, you're left alone to get on with it (with your hosts only steps or a phone call away) in your fully equipped apartment - complete with full kitchen with dishwasher, full laundry facilities, and plenty of space. It's like having a friend's bach (Kiwi holiday home) to yourself - it's very private.

There's starter food provided - enough things for breakfast the next day or two - plus a bottle of home-made lemonade using fruit from the Villa 10 garden, along with all the cleaning powders, etc., for the dishwasher and washing machine.

The view from Villa 10 is really special: Looking across the bay, beyond Haulashore Island, to Kahurangi and Abel Tasman, it's something I wish I could wake up to each morning!

This view, along with a handful of decent waterfront restaurants in 5 minutes walking distance, plus the bars/cafes at Tahunanui being close by, more than makes up for Villa 10 being a good 20-25 minute walk into central Nelson over the hill (but a taxi is < $10 NZ if you're feeling lazy or luxuriant).

It's a great base for exploring the Nelson region, whether you're interested in visiting Abel Tasman or the Moutere wineries, even heading a bit further afield to Marlborough is an easy day trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike-smashing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments

Property: Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments
Address: 10 Richardson Street | Port Hills, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian Villa over looking Tasman Bay to the mountains of Kahurangi National Park contains two private and self contained luxury apartments. 'The Loft' suitable for couples, 'The West Wing' accommodates up to five. Both include fully equipped kitchen, and laundry, living area with SKY TV, free high speed internet access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing