We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour View Apartments
Ranked #15 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“lovely stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

James was a delight to deal with. The house had beautiful views and was very neat and tidy. Only thing missing was a fireplace! Highly recommended though

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizzsmith0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We spent a couple of days here in early March in the two bedroom apartment and it was perfect. Well designed, well serviced with a luxurious feel and views to die for. Although it's up a steep hill, Nelson centre is an easy walk and it was just so wonderful to sit on the deck in the sunshine and watch the world go by. And the sunsets are spectacular. We'd definitely stay there again! Thanks James!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judetrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We booked the one bedroom for our wedding and were upgraded to the 2 bedroom at no extra cost, so was super happy with that, The guys were awesome to deal with and nothing was a problem. Waking up on the day of my wedding to see a boat coming in the cut was magic! the apartment is modern and spacious with lovely furnishings, we didn't want to leave and we live in Nelson!! Would definatly recommend this to anyone travelling to Nelson :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairebear28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

With few options outside of the run of the mill mediocracy drive-in motels, this gem was a pure pleasure, at a surprisingly inviting price, especially for what you get.

Located a short walk outside the town centre, the apartment has a view to die for, overlooking the yacht infested harbour and sunset vista. The modern decor and attention to quality finishes, topped by the massive sliding door to the wooden decked outdoor balcony make it a place that I would, without a doubt, return to if in the area, let alone recommend. If Grand Designs did apartments, this would be in it.

Equipped with everything you need and some nice unexpected extras (e.g. a packed out cookie jar - nearly empty when we left), it is great for a quick stop over or a more substantial stay.

Do yourself a favour - stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_The_Gerbi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We were looking for a nice place in Nelson that had a view, and this fitted the bill perfectly. It is up the hill from the entrance to Nelson Harbour and has a stunning view over the harbour entrance, and out across Tasman Bay to the mountains in the distance. I cannot rate the view too highly.

The 2 bedroom apartment itself is more like a small house and is luxurious, well set up and spacious. Be aware that it is self catered. There is an excellent kitchen but you will have to go out for meals or supplies. That is not too much of an issue as there are three good restaurants about 5 minutes walk away at the foot of the hill. It is a steep hill though and a good level of fitness is needed for the return trip on foot.

The manager, James, was good to deal with and we were upgraded from the 1 bedroom to the 2 bedroom unit without even asking.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom unit is downstairs and I think would also be quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We booked for the one-bedroom apartment but were upgraded to the two-bedroom at no extra cost. The quality is excellent, and the views are addictive.You need to be sure-footed if you want to walk the short distance to and from the water-side restaurants because of the steep access, but can drive right up to the apartment. The manager, James, was very helpful by email before hand, and by text about getting the key on the day. We stayed in mid June but booked the first time for January. We had to cancel the January booking at short notice because of a bereavement. They waived the deposit, despite losing the booking at the peak summer time. We will definitely go back there at any time of the year. There is no Sky TV if you cannot live without that. If you want daily servicing of the unit you need to arrange that. You don't need it because there are plenty of extra towels etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

This place is absolutely gorgeous! We stayed in a few good places on our 3-week trip to NZ and this was the best- just didn't want to leave. We stayed for 3 nights in the smaller, lower, apartment over New Year's eve and enjoyed the wonderful views at breakfast and dinner across to Able Tasman National Park. The apartment felt decadent- I loved the bathroom, the little steps down to the main sitting area/kitchen and up to the bedroom. The place contains everything you could possible need for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartments

Property: Harbour View Apartments
Address: 5 Harbour Terrace | Stepneyville, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking harbour, island, bay & mountain views ensure either of the 2 apartments are ideal places from which to enjoy the magical view: from the maritime traffic in the harbour to the grand vista of Tasman Bay & the western mountain ranges. A 1 bedroom apartment is on the lower level. It has beautiful wood floors & a large living area with big sliding windows & doors. There's a compact kitchen, tiled bathroom & laundry appliances. The 2 bedroom is above. It also has a large open living area & big windows & sliding doors. There's a full kitchen & separate laundry. The higher elevation give it earlier sun & a slightly more expansive view.The property is on the hillside (away from the busy waterfront highway). Nelson's renown waterfront dining strip is very nearby, at the bottom of the hill (2 mins walk down). The township is a 4 min drive. Abel Tasman National Park is easily doable as a day trip. There is a steep driveway with good parking & turning room at the top. There are approximately 16 steps up to Apartment 1 & another 16 to Apartment 2. These are normal spaced steps with good handrails. The property is managed by James and Richard of Te Puna Wai Lodge, Nelson. We manage a range of vacation properties in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Harbour View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing