We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old cars and astonishing wearable art”

World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$144.66*
and up
Full-Day Self-Guided Cycle and Sail Adventure from Nelson
Ranked #1 of 83 things to do in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The World of WearableArt and Classic Cars Museum is an iconic Nelson visitor attraction that celebrates two passions united by design. Amazing Wearable works of Art from the annual WOW Awards Show are displayed alongside one of Australasia's biggest private collections of rare, Classic Cars. The Museum also includes a Cafe renowned for it's tasty, healthy treats, a Retail Store full of NZ art and jewelry designs, and the ever-changing Reflections Art Gallery. Open every day 10am - 5pm (except Christmas Day)
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful old cars and astonishing wearable art”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We loved our visit to this museum. It's the best collection of old (presented as new) I've seen anywhere but what really blew us away was the 'World of Wearable Art." There's nothing like it anywhere else in the world; seeing is believing.

The wearable art is exquisitely displayed on mannequins. There's a remarkable fashion parade of 'mannequins in motion' worth your time to sit and enjoy and, in an adjacent theater, a movie that will keep you enthralled from beginning to end.

This is a premier attraction in Nelson and is not to be missed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoudHailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    272
    51
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
237 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful world of Wearable Art”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I loved the displays and that you could get right up close to the garments and examine them. You could also watch highlights of previous shows (probably the 2012 show)on screen in a cinema room for about 20-30 minutes. Not as many garments on display as I would have liked to see but the film showed loads. the car museum was great if you like looking at cars - which my husband enjoyed very much. A great place to visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank white0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unbelievable creativity & fun”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Even my husband was in awe with the creations we saw in the museum and the great film about the production and show! He also loved the car collections and we had great fun for a whole afternoon checking out the models of clothing and cars! We only wished we could be there when the show is live, fantasy galore!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichelleG149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
393 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“What imaginations....”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Visited this museum while in Nelson for a few days alone. Easy to kill a few hours in there...I wandered through the clothes section a couple of times & also enjoyed the cars...even though they're really not my thing. The coffee shop staff are friendly & the meals tasty & reasonably priced. Well worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jotibarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most interesting”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

It was a good place to visit as there was something for him to see and something for her to see. The cafe was a great place to eat while there, we were lucky to purchase date and orange scones freshly baked out of the oven, yum. Value for money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing