We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of Imagination”

World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$139.69*
and up
Full-Day Self-Guided Cycle and Sail Adventure from Nelson
Ranked #1 of 80 things to do in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The World of WearableArt and Classic Cars Museum is an iconic Nelson visitor attraction that celebrates two passions united by design. Amazing Wearable works of Art from the annual WOW Awards Show are displayed alongside one of Australasia's biggest private collections of rare, Classic Cars. The Museum also includes a Cafe renowned for it's tasty, healthy treats, a Retail Store full of NZ art and jewelry designs, and the ever-changing Reflections Art Gallery. Open every day 10am - 5pm (except Christmas Day)
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of Imagination”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Creativity (the clothes) is Imagination in Action, and the collection of cars was as good as you would see anywhere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    263
    49
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic collection of Cars.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

An Incredible, stunning collection of vintage and veteran cars and bikes, if you are even remotely interested in this type of museum, don't pass it by!!
I had no idea this was even there till checking online at the last moment.
All i can say is this display is a credit to the owner, i thank you for going to the trouble to share
your collection with all to see and enjoy.
As for the "blackout effect", maybe the owner would rather save the restoration of these magnificent beasts than provide guests with a "photo shoot" ?
Less in this case is not better, if you love "old" cars, to see all these in one place was fantastic..

Thanks Pete for your time, effort, money and willingness to share.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lozanvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Displays are very well set out and lots of information available. It is great to be able to generally close to the wearable art and learn about each garment. The classic cars include some very rare models in amazing condition, with interesting history provided. Not ideal for young children as their attention span may not be long enough for the adults to see and read everything they would like to. The cafe on site opens half an hour before the museum, and although we didn't try it it looked ok. Quite expensive entry, but worth it if you have a special interest in classic cars or wearable art.and

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Always a great display”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I have been to this museum several times, and each time I have been overawed from the beautiful Wearable Arts and the amazing collection of cars. This time was no different, and I was very pleased to see all the 2013 collection on display. Simply stunning.

The cars too were great, but I was very disappointed to see that they have put black cloth on the large windows in the building. I can see why they have done this, as it adds a theatrical feel to the display, and looks stunning, but unless you are a professional photographer, the photos taken of the cars are now very dark (I have included one of very poor photos to show this). Very disappointing, and I am wondering if the people doing the display have thought of this. The people who visit the cars, are real car buffs and appreciate good photos to take home.

The cars out the back on display are a impressive array of cars, but I think there are too many and they are packed in too tight. Less is better I think in this situation.

Great visitor attraction and a must see when visiting Nelson.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wanagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is brilliant. The wearable art is amazing. The video of the 2013 show is fabulous.
This is worth a visit just for the wearable art display, throw in the car museum and you could spend a day there. The car restoration works and the mere volume of cars is incredible. Go see it, it's a must. You will not regret.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank G7J10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing