We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”

World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$144.53*
and up
Full-Day Self-Guided Cycle and Sail Adventure from Nelson
Ranked #1 of 83 things to do in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The World of WearableArt and Classic Cars Museum is an iconic Nelson visitor attraction that celebrates two passions united by design. Amazing Wearable works of Art from the annual WOW Awards Show are displayed alongside one of Australasia's biggest private collections of rare, Classic Cars. The Museum also includes a Cafe renowned for it's tasty, healthy treats, a Retail Store full of NZ art and jewelry designs, and the ever-changing Reflections Art Gallery. Open every day 10am - 5pm (except Christmas Day)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The only part of the museum that is enjoyable is looking at the classic cars!

The wearable arts section shows how people can be creative with different objects that can be recycled but it's not worth paying $24.

Overall, I was left feeling disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shigamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    272
    51
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing - and Expensive”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

On the recommendation of a local resident we visited the museum with high expectations that we would see some truly innovative art. Apart from three or four pieces which caused us to pause, the majority of exhibits appeared to have been quite crudely lashed together with fairly commonplace art materials and fabrics. At $24 per adult admission we expected a great deal more. The exhibits compared poorly to an imaginatively dressed store window - which you can marvel at for free.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JoDubaiUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Inspiring and Fun”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A good couple of hours was spent here with our family and friends. It's close to the airport (although not close enough to walk). I did the WOW side while hubby preferred the Classic Cars, but perhaps that's why it's popular with all types of people.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FionaMacAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classy”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

It is interesting to see no matter classic cars or those wearable art garments. The ideas behind these garments are so amazing. very interesting.

So many "WOW" s when I see these classic cars. It is so cool.

As a backpacker this time, it spent me a little bit time to find out how to get there as it only says public bus is avaialable. It is bus route 2 to get there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cherc37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nelson seminar”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

liked the classic cars and also the wonderful clothes from wearable art very handy to our accommodation and also the airport

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NormR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing