We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Conference Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Neat tidy and very clean motel unit. Well appointed, comfortable and quiet. Hosts were great. Attended NZ Motel Assn (MANZ) conference at the Rutherford Hotel, which was a 5 min walk away.
Within walking distance to the city centre and all the good restaurants. Motel umbrellas a nice touch. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter. Rooms are double glazed, no outside noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

It was great to have fellow moteliers stay with us during the recent Motel Assoc (MANZ) conference, and to receive great feedback from them about how we are going. Nothing like a peer visit and review to keep you on your toes! Thanks for taking the time to give feedback, and for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed for two nights in March. The motel is on a major road (for Nelson, ie pretty quiet for a city dweller) but this does not impact upon the rooms which are all set well back from the road. Our room was very comfortable and had a high level of equipment. The wifi worked perfectly. It is a very easy stroll to the main area of the town with its bars and restaurants. We walked to the market on Saturday morning. Barry, the owner along with his wife, was extremely pleasant and helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: This review is based on our stay in one of the rooms on the upper floor. You have to carry your bag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRugbyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

After my first stay, I returned again to the same friendly and well serviced motel. The location is within walking distance of the central city if you wish to do a little exercise. The Sky & Free Wifi delighted my child. Will I stay again? Definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was a very nice motel, with very welcoming staff, and umbrellas to borrow (which was great because it was raining all day). The location wasn't the best, however, as the motel was on a busy street fairly far from downtown if walking. It was pretty close to the cathedral and some nice gardens. Overall, good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaitingforRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaParkOwners, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We are a handy 600m walk to the Cathedral Steps, located near all the cafes and restaurants at the top of Trafalgar St, the main shopping area. Hopefully the wet weather didn't make it seem too far, and that the sun shone for the rest of your NZ holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I enjoyed the motel. It was centrally located and within walking distance of most things downtown. The rooms were well built and well kept. They were clean and the atmosphere was good. I found that the staff were friendly and approachable. I certainly hope I can stay there when I return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at Chelsea Park and would rate as 5 star not 4 plus as it has all you would want plus more. Best nights sleep in ages 50+ Sky and Free Wifi was better than I had at home so will definitly be back plus your not paying 5 star rates for this quality

Room Tip: Choose a 1 Bedroom with Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaParkOwners, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you in Nelson again soon - the golf clubs will be waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Very friendly and helpful hosts, they even lent us their bikes to roam around and explore. Very good and clean rooms, quiet, within easy walking distance to the towncenter. Wen enjoyed our stay very much and can highly recommend it!
Susanne & Edi

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne and Edi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

It was lovely to have you here for a few days and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our mountain bikes are always available to guests free of charge. We had some lovely late autumn weather for you to go for a ride. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your NZ holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
702 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
567 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Park Motor Lodge

Address: 214 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £78 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chelsea Park Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge is a Qualmark rated 4 Star + motel, located in central Nelson city. Our boutique motel has only 10 units, all with kitchen facilities, free high speed WIFI and SKY Guest Select with over 50 channels. Our guests tell us we have a clean and luxurious motel with the most comfortable beds and best showers ever! With the tourist attractions of Nelson and surrounds on our doorstep, Paul and Jo look forward to hosting you and providing for your accommodation needs. For the best rates and no booking fees, book direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Chelsea Park Hotel
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing