We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay Great Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed at Chelsea Park in 1 Bedroom unit which was stunning as just been redecorated with everything you would want. This was real value for money as other motels of this standard were much more expensive. Lee was great with a friendly welcome and could not have been more helpful plus she escorted us to our room which was a nice touch and even got Barry to carry our heavy bags upstairs. Will stay again when back in Nelson

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in a Studio Unit on the Ground Floor which was most convenient.
The Unit was spotlessly clean and we had all the ammenties we needed for three nights.
Walking distance to the City,Countdown and New World Supermarkets approx. a ten minute walk.

Room Tip: Our Unit on the Ground floor was very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosemaryc438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We're pleased you enjoyed your few days in Nelson. The double glazing makes the rooms quiet, so we are pleased we could assist your particular request for a quiet room. With the warmer weather we are now experiencing, the patio off the room is also becoming very popular! We look forward to seeing you on your next Nelson sojourn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

6 of us visiting Nelson for a special investiture from Australia, Auckland & Hamilton. The management made us very welcome and accommodated our peculiar configurations, and late night arrivals. Nice quiet motel, good lounge in our unit, close to city for walking to venues, restaurants. Will definitely stay again

Room Tip: Back room on ground floor easier for older guests
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thanks Pat for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you all here for your friend's special occassion and award ceremony. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Spent an enjoyable 3 nights here as a base to explore the surrounding area.Unfortunately the weather was not very good so outdoor opportunities were limited.Lee was very helpful in trying to suggest alternate things to do such as museums and wine tasting at the local vineyards.,She even made reservations for us for an Abel Tasman boat tour and hike and we extended our trip another day-one of the advantages at staying at such a highly rated place in the off season
Had an upstairs room with one bedroom and a spa bath.As others have said street noise was apparent but not an issue in sleeping
The room was huge and nicely appointed.There was a TV with DVD player(large selection of movies available at the office)with two recliners in the living area.The kitchen was fully stocked with a frig,microwave,burner etc.As an American suffering sticker shock at the high cost of food it was nice to have the option available to eat in the room
There was a remote controlled heating/cooling system which was very efficient in warming up the room-much better than the standard heating systems I saw in other motels
But the bathroom-Ahhh such a lovely big spa bath,big enough for two! Good toiletries available as well as a heated towel rack
It was conveniently located on the main street, a short walk to shopping and restaurants
A very enjoyable stay despite the inclement weather

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay at Chelsea Park - it was a pleasure to have you here for the 3 nights. Well done on the 11km walk in the Abel Tasman National Park and we're pleased you could enjoy the spa bath afterwards! We hope the rest of your return NZ visit was as much fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have been staying at Chelsea Park regularly for the last two years. It's a lovely motel; the units are all immaculately clean and beautifully appointed. Lee and Barry are warm and welcoming and the whole place has a very friendly feel. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiredMumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thanks for the review "R". It's great to have an experienced, global traveller such as yourself return to stay with us time and again and appreciate the quality experience that we offer. The redecoration of our rooms is underway now and it was great to get your positive feedback on the direction we are taking Chelsea Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We arrived here after the drive up from Kaikoura, tired and in need of a rest.

As we were out of season - and the hotel quiet - we were given the family room which was effectively a small apartment. The welcome was warm and efficient, and the owners gave us a great recommendation of a company to use for a trip into the Abel Tasman park the following day. They booked it all for us and took payment and all we had to do was turn up!

The location is easily walkable into central Nelson and there is a supermarket just over the hill if you want to stock up and use the kitchenette for cooking your own meals.

Highly recommend this place if you want to have a relaxing comfortable stay in Nelson.

If i had to find one thing to comment on less positively, it would be the patchy WiFi coverage - although this seems pretty much endemic to New Zealand hotels :-S

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay here. Thanks also for the feedback on the WIFI. We have added extenders to our rooms to try to alleviate any problems in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My stay was really enjoyable. As an overseas visitor to Nelson for a Mining Conference, I found the motel to be within easy walking distance not only from the conference venue but also of the city centre and its attractions. The units are modern, very comfortable, well-appointed and spotlessly clean. Complementing all the "creature comforts" and making one's stay even more memorable were the conviviality of the host couple Lee & Barry and their friendly, efficient housekeeping staff. In short, very highly recommended.

Room Tip: My ground floor unit was excellent; there was absolutely no street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
672 reviews
0.0 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Park Motor Lodge

Address: 214 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £72 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chelsea Park Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge is a Qualmark rated 4 Star + motel, located in central Nelson city. Our boutique motel has only 10 units, all with kitchen facilities, free high speed WIFI and SKY Guest Select with over 50 channels. Our guests tell us we have a clean and luxurious motel with the most comfortable beds and best showers ever! With the tourist attractions of Nelson and surrounds on our doorstep, Paul and Jo look forward to hosting you and providing for your accommodation needs. For the best rates and no booking fees, book direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Chelsea Park Hotel
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing