We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated, nicely appointed well located one-bedroom unit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Newly renovated, nicely appointed well located one-bedroom unit”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

we stayed for 3 nights while touring around Nelson. The unit has recently been renovated and is very nice appointed. The kitchenette provided most equipment to make a meal, although a large mixing bowl to assemble ingredients would be a welcome addition. The motel is located an easy walking distance to the town centre but on a main road, which makes it easy to go touring outside of Nelson. A good grocery supermarket is near by. The owners are very nice and helpful on what to see and do in the area and where to dine out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here & hope the remainder of your South Island visit went as well as your stay in Nelson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    65
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
163
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Barry and Lee work tirelessly to run what must surely be the best Motel in this region. Nothing was too much trouble, as they guided me throughout my stay. I was provided journey planning advice and they even took me to the car rental firm to collect my vehicle.

The rooms are very well designed and perfect for relaxed self catering. A substantial breakfast could be ordered and always delivered promptly to the room . The wash rooom was immaculate with a powerful and refreshing shower, and well supplied daily with fresh towels and soaps. The fridge was kept stocked with fresh milk so as tea and coffee can be made at any time, day or night.

The position of the Chelsea is perfect for accessing all of the shops, restaurants and facilties that the lovely town of Nelson has to offer, as well as providing easy access to the major highways when exploring the magnificent scenery and landscapes of the north of the South Island.

Great value and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thanks Martyn for taking the time to write a review. We hope the conference and visit 'down under' turn out to be more productive than the fishing expeditions! The weather has certainly settled in the past few weeks since your visit so it feels like we are well into the summer season.
Hopefully we will see you back in the future for some more fishing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyr Cove, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

the Chelsea is very much like the typical motel accomodation in NZ, which is far better than the typical in the USA. Units are all usually clean and fitted out with nice little kitchenettes, and it is customary to provide a little half pint of milk for morning coffee. This motel was distinguished by being just a little more updated and a little more comfortable, including providing most everything needed to cook a semi serious meal. The proprietors were wonderful,.. which happily is more the norm than the unexpected in this country. We were also provided with considrable extra internet access "chits" when requested. somehow the "Zenbu network" which is common in many motel/hotel accommodations seems jto eat through mb of data at an alarming rate. It is usual to be given a chit with a password to access up to 50 mb of data, which should be adequate. However, due to Zenbu issues,.. or maybe Mac Icloud issues, 50 mb is just adequate to check email and maybe a few web pages before ii is exhausted...??? This is a fault common everywhere except those locations with true free (or purchased" 24 hour access with no data limits attached.

Room Tip: The one bedroom is large and commodious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your South Island tour and that the weather was kind to you!
We do find the "Traffic Mate" internet system we offer is easy for guests to use and allows us to provide greater data allowances to guests, at no charge. We were happy to offer this service so you could stay in touch with friends and family back home overseas.
Hopefully you can join us for a few extra days on your next visit to NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I am pleased to have found such a great place to stay when away from home on business every two weeks, You could not ask for better hosts as Barry and Lee, Both are friendly and welcoming and always with a smile, The rooms are excellent/fresh/modern, having a sky decoder in the rooms is great for people like me who after a hard days work just want to chill, I recently brought my wife on one of my business trips and she also loved the stay, recommend to all

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed at Chelsea Park in 1 Bedroom unit which was stunning as just been redecorated with everything you would want. This was real value for money as other motels of this standard were much more expensive. Lee was great with a friendly welcome and could not have been more helpful plus she escorted us to our room which was a nice touch and even got Barry to carry our heavy bags upstairs. Will stay again when back in Nelson

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in a Studio Unit on the Ground Floor which was most convenient.
The Unit was spotlessly clean and we had all the ammenties we needed for three nights.
Walking distance to the City,Countdown and New World Supermarkets approx. a ten minute walk.

Room Tip: Our Unit on the Ground floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosemaryc438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We're pleased you enjoyed your few days in Nelson. The double glazing makes the rooms quiet, so we are pleased we could assist your particular request for a quiet room. With the warmer weather we are now experiencing, the patio off the room is also becoming very popular! We look forward to seeing you on your next Nelson sojourn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

6 of us visiting Nelson for a special investiture from Australia, Auckland & Hamilton. The management made us very welcome and accommodated our peculiar configurations, and late night arrivals. Nice quiet motel, good lounge in our unit, close to city for walking to venues, restaurants. Will definitely stay again

Room Tip: Back room on ground floor easier for older guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks Pat for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you all here for your friend's special occassion and award ceremony. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
659 reviews
0.0 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#8 of 41 in Nelson
534 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Park Motor Lodge

Property: Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
Address: 214 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chelsea Park Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge is a Qualmark rated 4 Star + motel, located in central Nelson city. Our boutique motel has only 10 units, all with kitchen facilities, free high speed WIFI and SKY Guest Select with over 50 channels. Our guests tell us we have a clean and luxurious motel with the most comfortable beds and best showers ever! With the tourist attractions of Nelson and surrounds on our doorstep, Paul and Jo look forward to hosting you and providing for your accommodation needs. For the best rates and no booking fees, book direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Chelsea Park Hotel
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing