We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Palms Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$103
GrandMercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaches Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greens Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castles Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
333
70
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
70
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to townmotor lodgean easy walka great place to stayhelpful ownersspa bathwent the extra mileseparate bedroomexcellent motelnew zealandstay there againthe kitchencomfortable bedwalking distanceenjoyed our staygreat roomfree wifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My partner & I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Chelsea Park Motor Lodge. It was easy to find with off street parking & a short walk into town. We stayed in No 7 which was in excellent condition with all the extras you require with an upstairs view & balcony which was great plus the hosts Lee & Barry were very helpful & friendly. We'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waverill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed at Chelsea Park and couldn't fault it. The Owners Lee and Barry are so welcoming and the rooms spotless, we stayed for 2 nights in room 6 which they have just renovated and it was 5 star plus with all the furnishings plus free wifi and sky 50+ tv. We would stay again in a heartbeat and advise you to as well.

Room Tip: Choose room 6 just 5 star
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was the first of several places I stayed in New Zealand and easily the best. The room was large, clean, and equipped to a high standard with full kitchenette facilities for self-catering. The lodge was well located on the road in to Nelson from the airport and within easy walking distance of the town centre. However it was the friendly welcome of the owners, Lee and Barry that made it particularly special as they took a personal interest in ensuring any difficulties were dealt with and helped considerably with onward plans and arrangements.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_John_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed with Lee and Barry at the beginning of our New Zealand vacation in December. They were exceptionally helpful in recommending good restaurants and places to see not only in the Nelson region but all over the South Island. Our studio room was impeccably clean, well-designed and user-friendly with thoughtful touches everywhere from the wifi, to the bottled milk for coffee, special teas and coffees, full kitchenette supplies, etc. You can easily walk to town center from here in 5-10 minutes. There was a bit of road noise but it tapered off in the evenings. They kept our excess luggage for us while we took an Abel Tasman trip and it was waiting for us in our room when we got back. Lovely people. Any Americans put off by the "motel" part of their name should feel confident booking this place. It was definitely a cut above and reasonably priced at that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther from the road. King beds available in studio rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrozenMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

The managers were welcoming and helpful. Our room surpassed any expectations. The king bed was comfortable.The kitchen was stocked with all sorts of irregular but very thoughtful and useful utensils and the soap smelt amazing

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Magenta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews