We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Friendly and helpful hosts, situation reasonably close to central Nelson. We were in one of the spacious two bedroom units, and found that everything we needed was provided. Our party was two married couples, and only one double bed was available - it would have been better if the twin beds in the other room could have been combined into another double. This apart, everything else was very good and we would definitely use the Chelsea Park again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwijock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

The words 'motor lodge' in an accommodation name can sometimes attract a negative image of an old 70s/80s style basic accommodation. But this place is how a modern motor lodge should be - nicely presented, modern new/re-furbished rooms, immaculately clean, modern and fully functional appliances, very good bed, bedding and linen.

We had a one bedroom spa suite - plenty of room and even a little outside private patio area. Continental breakfast was included and was delivered the night before which was great as it means you don't have to be up and about at a specific time (an idea for improvement - include a piece of fresh fruit). Wifi was also included and worked ok although you often had to choose a different connection because one or more of the 3 connections wouldn't connect.

Location is very close to the town centre, an easy walk to some good restaurants. Lee and Barry were welcoming and helpful. Would stay again if I was in this area again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

As very much travelled people we rank Chelsea Park Lodge as one of the best motels we have been fortunate to find in Nelson, New Zealand. Upon arrival Lee and Barry give a very warm, friendly welcome and in a most obliging manner are keen to meet your every need. The high standard of accommodation with every comfort, makes staying there very pleasurable. We loved the privacy, the comfy beds, the cosiness and views of the rooms and the attractive, central environment of the complex, so handy to Nelson shops and restaurants. These two moteliers are neat people with a fabulous motel. Ten out of ten!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs and enjoyed the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imogen137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Good hotel. helpful staff. Rooms are clean. The owner guided us well, opened the laundry in the night for our wash. Location is good, near main street with many eateries. The kitchenette is well equipped for cooking for the family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangassamy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in March 2014. The motel is located conveniently a short walk from Nelson town centre with lots of eateries. The owner Lee was very helpful and friendly throughout my stay and did some bookings on my behalf. I was given a 1 bedroom wheelchair accessible unit although I had booked a studio. The unit was rather tastefully decorated and seemed almost brand new. It was very clean and the bathroom was obviusly much more spacious than in ordinary motel units. Wifi was included and worked reliably. Sleep quality was very high due to comfortable bed and quietness. This motel was definitely the best during my trip to NZ and I would not hesitate to stay there again if I visit Nelson in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJSA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

After a not-so-great beginning to our mini-trip to Nelson at another motel, we found Chelsea Park Manor online and we are so glad we did. The owners are lovely, and are only too happy to help out with request and local info. The rooms were excellent - comfortable beds, lovely living area and well-appointed kitchen. Plunger coffee and selection of tea/coffee is complementary. The bathrooms are brilliant - a lovely spa bath to relax in - or in my case, take our baby for a warm dip each day! Heated towel racks and most impressively, HEATED BATHROOM MIRRORS! We've decided to get one for our bathroom at home! There is a laundry on site (a reasonable cost per load) as well. The only "issue" was that our wifi connection to our room was very intermittent and slow - however, after advising the owners of this, they brought up a network range extender to our room and that fixed the problem immediately. Zumo coffee is just down the road and it is close to the city centre. Pak n Save is only a 10 minute drive away and Countdown/New World are even closer (we love pak n save as we have nothing like it in Australia!). Thanks for a lovely stay - when we return to Nelson we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteandtrisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our studio room presented the best value for money we have had during our South Island vacation. Tastefully decorated, all new furnishing. Separate bedroom, excellent mattress & bedding. Very clean in all aspects. Nice little terrace. All amenities, free WiFi. TV-sets with Sky in both bedroom and living room. Very friendly host. Good location. Quiet but close to the City Centre in walking distance. Would stay again here any time when back to the Nelson region.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
705 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Park Motor Lodge

Address: 214 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £78 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chelsea Park Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge is a Qualmark rated 4 Star + motel, located in central Nelson city. Our boutique motel has only 10 units, all with kitchen facilities, free high speed WIFI and SKY Guest Select with over 50 channels. Our guests tell us we have a clean and luxurious motel with the most comfortable beds and best showers ever! With the tourist attractions of Nelson and surrounds on our doorstep, Paul and Jo look forward to hosting you and providing for your accommodation needs. For the best rates and no booking fees, book direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Chelsea Park Hotel
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing