We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Grove Motor Lodge
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will stay again..”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Right next to the rugby grounds, our suite was very very good. Plenty of room and quality furnishings. Clean and neat. I am notoriously difficult to please!

We will be staying again whenever we are in Nelson.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    41
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
115
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This is our 3rd visit, and once again it was superb. We are usually in the middle of a long trip when we stop off here, and welcome the on site laundry, the rooms are spacious, clean, good bathrooms, and super staff willing to help.

We have stayed in 2 room types, and would prefer the larger room options as the separate bedroom, and larger living space makes for a better stay if staying for more than 1 night.

The kitchen / dining set up is great for those like us who like to cook for themselves, although Nelson has some great dining options!

There is a daily charge for internet, but its minimal. The Motel is in a great location with a short walk into town.

When we return to Nelson, we will return to Cedar Grove.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandjotg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Comfortable motel close to Nelson CBD and Trafalgar Park Sports complex. Situated on a major road but traffic noise was negligible. Well laid out roomy studio with plush carpet, a very comfortable king size bed, well equipped kitchenette and good desk and dining space. Flat screen TV and DVD player with DVDs available for free from reception. Very clean, near new appearance with a number of little extras like serviettes and a bowl of mints provided. Large heated bathroom with quality toiletries. Unlike some motel rooms, this one had an abundance of powerpoints to run laptops and chargers. Wifi $5 per day. Very friendly owners who provided information on local sites and recommendations for restaurants.

Room Tip: Upstairs at the back to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The accomodation was spotless. The furniture undamaged, clean and comfortable. Our overall impression was this was the best accomodation we syayed in during our 3 weeks in New Zealand in 2011 and a 6 week trip in 2008.

Proprietors also very helpful, loaning tolls to correct a defect with our vehicle.

We throughly recommend this accomodation to anyone - they will be well satisfied

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank brianholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I can only echo the previous reviews in saying that this is very good accommodation, only a 2 minute walk into lovely Nelson. John, the host is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are large, extremely clean and tastefully decorated, the bed is huge and comfortable. The kitchen area is well equipped. We were only here one night on route to elsewhere but I would have been more than happy to have stayed longer and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Cedar Grove is a 5 minute walk to downtown Nelson. The apartment is beautifully decorated and serviced with extra perks. The kitchen is well equipped and extra clean. The furnishings and bed are very comfortable The owners are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about activities, locations and restaurant recommendations. Loved this accommodation and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schoolsoutx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Lovely place, and convenient for the main streets, cinema, river walks, and only a short drive to a sandy beach. Cannot fault our week long stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oftenaway190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
534 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Grove Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Motor Lodge

Property: Cedar Grove Motor Lodge
Address: Cnr Trafalgar and Grove Sts | 59 Trafalgar St, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Grove Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 2 minute stroll over the Maitai River bridge to the central Nelson CBD and shopping area, Cedar Grove Motor Lodge is ideally located for travellers and those on business to Nelson, seeking top quality accommodation that is close to all the great things that Nelson has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedar Grove Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel
Cedar Grove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing