We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedar Grove Motor Lodge
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value for money and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

We arrived at the Cedar Grove Motor Lodge with some trepidation as we were expecting an American-type motel. We couldn't be more wrong. This should have been called a boutique hotel! Lovely spacious, super clean room with a beautiful garden, all the amenities we wished for and little welcoming and personable details such a stalk of nice magazine to read leisurely and a bowl of bonbons. We also had a kitchenette which was really handy and the hospitable owners were happy to provide breakfast delivered to our room if we wanted to plus useful tips for the area. Access to a launderette on site was a relief after a few days on the road as was free parking. Only two minutes walk from the centre of Nelson, it was a real find. It was also peaceful, private and quiet which gave us a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bargain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    40
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
112
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Motels in NZ tend to be functional with a tendancy to be a bit characterless. Cedar Grove is an exception. It has a really nice comfortable feel to it. They have paid attention to detail. There are plenty of plugs and the reading lights are in the right places.

I sgree with others who have described it as one of the better motels anywhere. You could not improve on the service and the location is perfect for central Nelson

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
181 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

This is an excellent base for any stay in Nelson. A clean and comfortable Motel with a VERY hard working Management couple. Rooms cleaned within moments of you leaving for the day's outing and nothing too much trouble if asked of them. With many of the older Villa style accommodations having no off street parking, this Motel is excellent. Free WiFi (only an hour but you can twist their arm to give it per day) and the rooms set back from the road are very quiet.

Do try Ford's restaurant and the Lone Star does a great steak meal

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kotuku123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

I have spent >4 months in New Zealand in the past year and Cedar Grove Motor Lodge was one of the best motels in which I stayed. The hosts are warm, lovely and very helpful. The room (one bedroom suite) was spacious, neat and clearly recently updated with modern but comfortable and welcoming decor. The bathroom was also large with a lovely spa bathtub as well as a nice shower. There was adequate and safe off-street parking. The lodge is a <5 minute walk from the city center. I found no deficiencies at all and would have loved to stay there longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saadia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Cedar Grove Motor Lodge was the best motel/hotel we stayed in during our 17 night trip to New Zealand. Our room was very well appointed with separate bedroom large kitchen area and good size balcony. The bed was comfortable, the shower was large and had good pressure and temperature.
Our host couldn't have been more helpfull even offering to help with our luggage. It is a short distance into town and ample shopping available. There is nothing I could fault about our accommodation, it was perfect. I have been recomending this motel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth. Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We recently stayed in this lovely Motel for one night only. We upgraded to the executive studio for only $10 extra and it was just perfect - large room, comfy bed and of course the spa!!
The owner (John) was very friendly and helpful. The motel is within easy walking distance from the city centre which was perfect.
We were sorry we had to leave after only one night - would have loved to have stayed a few nights longer....

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive studio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

My wife and I visit Nelson regulary and have found this an excellent place to stay,friendly staff,spacious units with nice comfortable beds and a short walk to town centre,Hotels and restaraunts,would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Grove Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Motor Lodge

Property: Cedar Grove Motor Lodge
Address: Cnr Trafalgar and Grove Sts | 59 Trafalgar St, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#4 Spa Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Grove Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 2 minute stroll over the Maitai River bridge to the central Nelson CBD and shopping area, Cedar Grove Motor Lodge is ideally located for travellers and those on business to Nelson, seeking top quality accommodation that is close to all the great things that Nelson has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedar Grove Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel
Cedar Grove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing