We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodation in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar Grove Motor Lodge
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Hard to fault this motel - it had everything you would want and expect at the upper end of the motel range. What makes this special is the owners who were very friendly and helpful. We looked at three rooms before deciding which bed was at the right hardness - yes, we are one of those picky types! - and this was no trouble to the owners. The room we had was perfect and had everything we wanted. This was especially important as we had had a bad experience with B&B accommodation that very day, and were quite desperate for some privacy and decent facilities. The spa bath was wonderful, the beds comfortable and being able to lie in bed and watch TV, a special bonus. The motel is only five minutes walk at most from the city center.

The price was competitive, at the upper end, but there was some room to negotiate which was appreciated.

You can stay here with complete confidence and the hosts, John and Jill, are outstanding. Just what you would want to find.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room that exits onto Grove Street, on the eastern side. Plenty of parking and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

We were very pleased to find out that they gave us the room already at 9 am at no extra cost, since nobody had been in the room the previous night. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and clean. It is situated just a couple of minutes walk from all the shops and cafés. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try a room with a spa bath!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LillyPilly229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We arrived at the Cedar Grove Motor Lodge with some trepidation as we were expecting an American-type motel. We couldn't be more wrong. This should have been called a boutique hotel! Lovely spacious, super clean room with a beautiful garden, all the amenities we wished for and little welcoming and personable details such a stalk of nice magazine to read leisurely and a bowl of bonbons. We also had a kitchenette which was really handy and the hospitable owners were happy to provide breakfast delivered to our room if we wanted to plus useful tips for the area. Access to a launderette on site was a relief after a few days on the road as was free parking. Only two minutes walk from the centre of Nelson, it was a real find. It was also peaceful, private and quiet which gave us a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bargain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Motels in NZ tend to be functional with a tendancy to be a bit characterless. Cedar Grove is an exception. It has a really nice comfortable feel to it. They have paid attention to detail. There are plenty of plugs and the reading lights are in the right places.

I sgree with others who have described it as one of the better motels anywhere. You could not improve on the service and the location is perfect for central Nelson

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This is an excellent base for any stay in Nelson. A clean and comfortable Motel with a VERY hard working Management couple. Rooms cleaned within moments of you leaving for the day's outing and nothing too much trouble if asked of them. With many of the older Villa style accommodations having no off street parking, this Motel is excellent. Free WiFi (only an hour but you can twist their arm to give it per day) and the rooms set back from the road are very quiet.

Do try Ford's restaurant and the Lone Star does a great steak meal

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kotuku123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I have spent >4 months in New Zealand in the past year and Cedar Grove Motor Lodge was one of the best motels in which I stayed. The hosts are warm, lovely and very helpful. The room (one bedroom suite) was spacious, neat and clearly recently updated with modern but comfortable and welcoming decor. The bathroom was also large with a lovely spa bathtub as well as a nice shower. There was adequate and safe off-street parking. The lodge is a <5 minute walk from the city center. I found no deficiencies at all and would have loved to stay there longer!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saadia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Cedar Grove Motor Lodge was the best motel/hotel we stayed in during our 17 night trip to New Zealand. Our room was very well appointed with separate bedroom large kitchen area and good size balcony. The bed was comfortable, the shower was large and had good pressure and temperature.
Our host couldn't have been more helpfull even offering to help with our luggage. It is a short distance into town and ample shopping available. There is nothing I could fault about our accommodation, it was perfect. I have been recomending this motel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Grove Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Motor Lodge

Address: Cnr Trafalgar and Grove Sts | 59 Trafalgar St, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £87 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Grove Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 2 minute stroll over the Maitai River bridge to the central Nelson CBD and shopping area, Cedar Grove Motor Lodge is ideally located for travellers and those on business to Nelson, seeking top quality accommodation that is close to all the great things that Nelson has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cedar Grove Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel
Cedar Grove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing