We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Motel in Nelson!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Grove Motor Lodge
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have been staying at this motel for many years, when on business in Nelson. Has all the attributes of a top motel - modern, very clean, spacious rooms, large bathrooms, very comfortable beds, friendly hosts, and great location. Only a 5 minute walk to shops and good restaurants. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 1 and 2 bedroom suites are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

We just spent two nights over Easter weekend in Cedar Grove Motor Lodge and enjoyed it very much. The owner(?) John was quite accommodating and helpful. He offered us a large executive suite at a discount. The room was very large and comfortable. The air conditioner in the main living area cooled the whole place quite well. There were two flat-screen TVs one in the living area and one in the bedroom. The bathroom had a SPA tube/shower arrangement. We did not use the SPA tub, but the shower was quite acceptable. The room also had a balcony, but we did not use it either. The motor lodge is in a convenient location to the CBD and it was an easy walk to the very nice business district. We went to the Nelson Saturday Market which was only a 10 minute walk away.
The only negatives I have are that the bed was a bit small for the two of us, but we sort of knew that when we took the room, and the teensy 1 hr of free internet access that came with the room. It wasn't even 1 hr/day, but 1 hr total. Still, because of its good location and clean and comfortable room, I would gladly recommend Cedar Grove Motor Lodge anyone who wants to stay in Nelson.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here for one night to explore Nelson and thought it was excellent: just a few 100 yards from the main shopping streets/bars etc but quiet and next to the river walks. Clean, smart, tidy, spacious, plenty of parking and good free wi-fi. Very helpful and friendly owners. Good value for money, especially when considering its great location and quality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

A great little place one block from town yet quiet and well specified. The owner was a delight with a lovely welcome. The room (suite- we were upgraded at no cost) had a spacious lounge and a nice bedroom. The decor is unfussy, a bit 'male' perhaps, no padded headboard or bedside tables but perfectly functional and well equipped. I would certainly go back.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Our third stay in so many years. Superior comfort, good architecture, extremely clean inside out, manicured gardens and outdoor settings for the more expensive ground floor rooms and suites.
Very short walking distance to town center and restaurants.
Very friendly and attentive service. Just perfect. Wishing a motel of such high quality in every town!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Hard to fault this motel - it had everything you would want and expect at the upper end of the motel range. What makes this special is the owners who were very friendly and helpful. We looked at three rooms before deciding which bed was at the right hardness - yes, we are one of those picky types! - and this was no trouble to the owners. The room we had was perfect and had everything we wanted. This was especially important as we had had a bad experience with B&B accommodation that very day, and were quite desperate for some privacy and decent facilities. The spa bath was wonderful, the beds comfortable and being able to lie in bed and watch TV, a special bonus. The motel is only five minutes walk at most from the city center.

The price was competitive, at the upper end, but there was some room to negotiate which was appreciated.

You can stay here with complete confidence and the hosts, John and Jill, are outstanding. Just what you would want to find.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room that exits onto Grove Street, on the eastern side. Plenty of parking and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We were very pleased to find out that they gave us the room already at 9 am at no extra cost, since nobody had been in the room the previous night. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and clean. It is situated just a couple of minutes walk from all the shops and cafés. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try a room with a spa bath!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LillyPilly229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Grove Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Motor Lodge

Address: Cnr Trafalgar and Grove Sts | 59 Trafalgar St, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £83 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Grove Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 2 minute stroll over the Maitai River bridge to the central Nelson CBD and shopping area, Cedar Grove Motor Lodge is ideally located for travellers and those on business to Nelson, seeking top quality accommodation that is close to all the great things that Nelson has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cedar Grove Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel
Cedar Grove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing