We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedar Grove Motor Lodge
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort and convenience”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Felt welcomed and valued from first inquiry phone call. Room ready and spacious. Spotlessly clean. Great, non-intrusive hosting. Dishdrawer, large TV, spa and self-cook facilities all great.

Location superb!! So central to down town shops, river/marina walkways, Saturday market, movie complex, iSite, restaurants, Trafalgar Park, Trafalgar Centre.

Room Tip: Ask for spa bath. Phone book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCnz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    40
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
114
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Agree with other posters that location is very good for town and that the owner is really helpful.We had a 2 bed unit which also had space outside for a barbecue which was available to borrow.As said before cannot beat location for town and shops including grocery store.Unit clean and very comfortable

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farrercove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy-sur-Cluses, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

The owners were very nice and very helpful. The room was great. It was a short walk both to downtown and the water, going in the other direction. The owners made sure we got to the Saturday morning market which was excellent. It is now my favorite town in NZ.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have been staying at this motel for many years, when on business in Nelson. Has all the attributes of a top motel - modern, very clean, spacious rooms, large bathrooms, very comfortable beds, friendly hosts, and great location. Only a 5 minute walk to shops and good restaurants. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 1 and 2 bedroom suites are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We just spent two nights over Easter weekend in Cedar Grove Motor Lodge and enjoyed it very much. The owner(?) John was quite accommodating and helpful. He offered us a large executive suite at a discount. The room was very large and comfortable. The air conditioner in the main living area cooled the whole place quite well. There were two flat-screen TVs one in the living area and one in the bedroom. The bathroom had a SPA tube/shower arrangement. We did not use the SPA tub, but the shower was quite acceptable. The room also had a balcony, but we did not use it either. The motor lodge is in a convenient location to the CBD and it was an easy walk to the very nice business district. We went to the Nelson Saturday Market which was only a 10 minute walk away.
The only negatives I have are that the bed was a bit small for the two of us, but we sort of knew that when we took the room, and the teensy 1 hr of free internet access that came with the room. It wasn't even 1 hr/day, but 1 hr total. Still, because of its good location and clean and comfortable room, I would gladly recommend Cedar Grove Motor Lodge anyone who wants to stay in Nelson.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here for one night to explore Nelson and thought it was excellent: just a few 100 yards from the main shopping streets/bars etc but quiet and next to the river walks. Clean, smart, tidy, spacious, plenty of parking and good free wi-fi. Very helpful and friendly owners. Good value for money, especially when considering its great location and quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
various
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

A great little place one block from town yet quiet and well specified. The owner was a delight with a lovely welcome. The room (suite- we were upgraded at no cost) had a spacious lounge and a nice bedroom. The decor is unfussy, a bit 'male' perhaps, no padded headboard or bedside tables but perfectly functional and well equipped. I would certainly go back.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Grove Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Motor Lodge

Property: Cedar Grove Motor Lodge
Address: Cnr Trafalgar and Grove Sts | 59 Trafalgar St, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Grove Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 2 minute stroll over the Maitai River bridge to the central Nelson CBD and shopping area, Cedar Grove Motor Lodge is ideally located for travellers and those on business to Nelson, seeking top quality accommodation that is close to all the great things that Nelson has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedar Grove Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel
Cedar Grove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing