We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greeted like long lost friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Grove Motor Lodge
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Although we hadn't stayed here in several years the owner greeted us by name, remembered our previous car and welcomed us back before we even had a chance to say who we were- a great way to feel truly welcomed on a wet Friday evening.
This is a great example of a very nicely appointed motel with lots of little extras....though it is a little more expensive it is a luxury experience we think and great for a special weekend away such as this! The motel is close to town as well at the lower end of Trafalgar St.
We booked a 1 bedroom apartment for this visit. We were escorted to the unit which was upstairs and had 2 outside balconies-had the weather been better we would have enjoyed sitting out on one or other balcony for breakfast. The unit looked like it may have been recently redecorated in line with the outside painting programme. Beige and black throughout and very nicely done. The kitchen is fully functional and includes a dish drawer. The bath room has a shower over quite a large spa bath. Both the Bedroom and lounge had TVs with a mix of sky digital and regular channels. There is also a sound system and a DVD player. The bed is one of the most comfortable we have slept in. A supply of magazines and some mints are nice touches in the lounge area.

Room Tip: A one bedroom unit is spacious although the studio units are fine. An upstairs unit should have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

okay once again just a 1 nighter at this place found all very friendly and happy and the rooms passed with a big tick found some eating places not far away so over all it was a place I would say to others yes give it ago for the price everyone's a winner oh yes the rooms a very clean so well done on this point. Bye may be back again soon

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank na1199dia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay, decided to pay ten dollars more for an executive 1 room suite and it was spot on - TV DVD stereo all cooking facilities huge bath and a balcony - clean and tidy - good access to town the shops and places to eat defiantly stay again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank MissFloopy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We arrived rather late from the North Island, but were welcomed instantly with no hassles. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and cosy. At check in we were provided with lots of information on local restaurants, the markets and directions for going on our journey afterwards. Easy walk into the town centre. Recommend Cedar Grove.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobella_D_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Cedar Grove was our first destination the South Island after a week of intensive travelling from Auckland etc, an early morning ferry crossing from Wellington with brief stops in Picton, along the Q Charlotte Drive, Havelock- NZ mussell capital yet the one main street restaurant was closed?!, charming river setting at Pelarius Scenic Reserve and yet we still only got to Nelson till post 5pm.

Cedar Grove is situated just as you come off the main road into Nelson. We had an Executive Studio room booked from their website. It was a generous 50sqmetre which gave us the breathing space to sort ourselves out for our next South island leg. The separate laundry room was used to do a small wash. The “kitchen" area plus table and 2chairs gave us facilities to cook our own breakfeast, lunch and evening meal and dishwasher for cleaning..TV and dvd player with 2 easy chairs and side table meant we could relax in the evening. First evening we enjoyed a great meal in Hopgoods restaurant -recommended.
Our first full day coincided with the remnants of the Lucie cyclone which meant a day of torrential rain ie a write off for outside activities however we needed the rest and enjoyed cooking in the room.
On the next (final) full day the weather had turned around with beautiful sunshine and we made a full day of it in the Abel Tasman park- very memorable part of our NZ tour

Would agree with other TA reviewers who note that the rooms are well and extensively furnished, things work, estate is quiet. Easy walking distance to all town sights and restaurants. Reception staff friendly and very helpful with advice etc.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is located right in the downtown area of Nelson so you can walk to it. It also is about 12 minutes from the airport. But that is not what gives it a 5. It is clean, spacious, modern- by that I mean it is bright inside, has new comfortable beds, lots of outlets, and a dishwasher. The kitchen was well stocked and had everything we needed to make a lovely supper. Our one bedroom place was $175NZ a night and well worth it. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful as well. We stayed at 7 hotels on the southern island and this was one of, if not the best. I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

One of the best motels we've stayed in.....the one bedroom unit was modern, spacious and fully appointed. Professional friendly management and well situated. There was nothing to fault at all. An easy walk to the city centre and close to cages and restaurants.

Room Tip: The one bedroom units are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
508 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Grove Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Motor Lodge

Address: Cnr Trafalgar and Grove Sts | 59 Trafalgar St, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £79 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Grove Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 2 minute stroll over the Maitai River bridge to the central Nelson CBD and shopping area, Cedar Grove Motor Lodge is ideally located for travellers and those on business to Nelson, seeking top quality accommodation that is close to all the great things that Nelson has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cedar Grove Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel
Cedar Grove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing