We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a grate place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Grove Motor Lodge
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, New Zealand
1 review
“a grate place to stay.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

the cedar grove motor lodge, i would recommend as a top place to stay,the staff were grate, very neat tidy rooms,handy to all shopping in the nelson city center, a all round grate place, and yes i will be going back and i will all so be telling family and friends.

Room Tip: just tell them what you are looking for, and i an sure they can accommodate your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    41
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
116
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was very happy to have chosen this as my accommodation during my 3 days in Nelson. Location was perfect, the owners John and Gill are so obliging and helpful. The room, which is just like an apartment, feels so much like home for me. Very very clean, excellent kitchen, lovely comfortable bed (with electric blanket) and fantastic bathroom. I had a very restful two night sleep in this lovely place. I can highly recommend this place to anybody who visits Nelson for the first time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Cedar Grove has become my go to motel in Nelson.

The rooms are spacious, and the cleanliness to the highest standard. Little touches in the room add to the atmosphere make it a great place to stay and work. It is very comfortable.

I always get a warm welcome, and enjoyed my latest stay there. The location is great, and a nice easy walk to town.

I can thoroughly recommend the Cedar Grove.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our first couple of days on the South Island after coming across the Interislander Ferry from Wellington and an easy and enjoyable drive from Picton were spent at this motel which is easy to find on the approach into the main town centre. The Cedar Grove Motor Lodge was harder for me to review than others because it is hard to differentiate in my mind what it was that made me look so very favourably on it. Maybe it was the warm and genuine welcome from Roger and his wife who were full of "insider knowledge" of Nelson and its environs and how best to utilise our time. We saw him all afternoon buzzing about being helpful - not a motelier to hide away in his office, he was busy supplying hoses for people to wash their cars, detergent for others to wash their clothes and any number of other kindnesses, all without being overly familiar or over the top. A joy to have met you, sir. Or maybe it was the centrality of the motel which allowed us to park our car and walk anywhere in town. It was particularly nice of Nelson to hold their annual Opera in the Park on the night we were there allowing us to sit and listen to glorious music from our motel room! The room itself was very comfortable and quite spacious with a little courtyard out the back. Despite being close to the main road it was also quiet. We were there in an unseasonably hot period and had no air conditioning. An electric fan was supplied in a flash and we were told that only some rooms have it. So if this is something that may be important to you, pay accordingly and get one of the executive rooms. Furnishings are not eye catching or particularly modern but with a well equipped kitchen, dining room table and chairs and comfortable lounge chairs it somehow doesn't need the glitz to work as sleight-of-hand as other places do. So I am not sure what it is that makes this motel outstanding, but it is. I used it as a yard stick everywhere else I went. Will it be the same without these present owners? Only time will tell, but right at this moment it is terrific, not spectacular, but terrific nonetheless .

Room Tip: If air conditioning matters to you, book a room that has it in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Although we hadn't stayed here in several years the owner greeted us by name, remembered our previous car and welcomed us back before we even had a chance to say who we were- a great way to feel truly welcomed on a wet Friday evening.
This is a great example of a very nicely appointed motel with lots of little extras....though it is a little more expensive it is a luxury experience we think and great for a special weekend away such as this! The motel is close to town as well at the lower end of Trafalgar St.
We booked a 1 bedroom apartment for this visit. We were escorted to the unit which was upstairs and had 2 outside balconies-had the weather been better we would have enjoyed sitting out on one or other balcony for breakfast. The unit looked like it may have been recently redecorated in line with the outside painting programme. Beige and black throughout and very nicely done. The kitchen is fully functional and includes a dish drawer. The bath room has a shower over quite a large spa bath. Both the Bedroom and lounge had TVs with a mix of sky digital and regular channels. There is also a sound system and a DVD player. The bed is one of the most comfortable we have slept in. A supply of magazines and some mints are nice touches in the lounge area.

Room Tip: A one bedroom unit is spacious although the studio units are fine. An upstairs unit should have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

okay once again just a 1 nighter at this place found all very friendly and happy and the rooms passed with a big tick found some eating places not far away so over all it was a place I would say to others yes give it ago for the price everyone's a winner oh yes the rooms a very clean so well done on this point. Bye may be back again soon

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank na1199dia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay, decided to pay ten dollars more for an executive 1 room suite and it was spot on - TV DVD stereo all cooking facilities huge bath and a balcony - clean and tidy - good access to town the shops and places to eat defiantly stay again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MissFloopy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Grove Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Motor Lodge

Property: Cedar Grove Motor Lodge
Address: Cnr Trafalgar and Grove Sts | 59 Trafalgar St, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Grove Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 2 minute stroll over the Maitai River bridge to the central Nelson CBD and shopping area, Cedar Grove Motor Lodge is ideally located for travellers and those on business to Nelson, seeking top quality accommodation that is close to all the great things that Nelson has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Cedar Grove Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel
Cedar Grove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing