We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Accomodations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar Grove Motor Lodge
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2005

This is a better late than never posting - a recommendation for lodging if visiting Nelson. We (family of four adults) spent a month in July/August 2004 checking out New Zealand - both North and South Islands. We arrived in Nelson (a city highly recommended by local Kiwis as the place they would most like to live) and spent our first night in an average, noisy motel with very uncomfortable beds.
We lucked upon the Cedar Grove and booked their largest apartment for the remainder of our stay in Nelson. We stayed in the Family Apartment - two bedrooms and two baths. King bed in one and twin beds in the other. Rate at the time was $200NZ - fantastic bargain.
The Cedar Grove was outstanding - fairly new at the time.A very comfortable living room with TV and CD/DVD player, private patio area, very comfortable beds and a good size kitchen and eating area that we used daily. Full sized clothes washers and dryers were also available. As we had a rental car, we parked right outside our apartment. The Cedar Grove (on the corner of Trafalgar and Grove Streets) was within walking distance of downtown Nelson and close-by restaurants and grocery stores.
The proprietors - Peter and Pat Heath - were extraordinarily helpful at all times and gave us fantastic local information. They headed us in the right direction to experience Golden Bay, Abel Tasman Park, the waterfront, restaurants (don't leave without eating local green lipped mussels), museums (World of Wearable Art and Collectible Cars is a must), Tahunanui Beach, art galleries, local boutique breweries and vineyards, the quaint and groovy Saturday Outdoor Market (brought home some amazing art work).
Everyone we met was refreshingly cordial and genial, eager to socialize with American tourists who had found their town. Although we were there in the middle of winter, the weather in Nelson was similar to southern California - temperate, with cool nights. We will definitely stay at the Cedar Grove again and hope others will try this lovely motor lodge.

17  Thank SausalitoKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank kazama m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lintrac, Owner at Cedar Grove Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lintrac, Owner at Cedar Grove Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yingxiaoLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Татьяна И
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pohutukawa0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Grove Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Motor Lodge

Address: Cnr Trafalgar and Grove Sts | 59 Trafalgar St, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £86 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Grove Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 2 minute stroll over the Maitai River bridge to the central Nelson CBD and shopping area, Cedar Grove Motor Lodge is ideally located for travellers and those on business to Nelson, seeking top quality accommodation that is close to all the great things that Nelson has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cedar Grove Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel
Cedar Grove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing