We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful central home away from home”
Review of Amber Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amber Court Motel
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“wonderful central home away from home”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

have just stayed here and chris can not do enough for you,we travel the south island for work and it is hard getting a good place to stay but have found it.the units are large with kitchens very comfy beds lovely calming decor,bathroom very spacious,only 1 wee problem they have put a body wash container on wall where you step into shower and it is a bit hard to get past if you have shower on to warm up,but this does not detract from the motel overall,we will be back,love a good clean motel

Room Tip: if you want a quieter room away from corner noise try unit 1 to 5,or down very back,this is not a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    39
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
42
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We were very warmly welcomed by Chris who is a great host and does not immediately bombard you with information but gives good advice when asked. The room we had was comfortable and we would have stayed a day longer had we had the time. The sheets were the silkiest we had slept in on our trip. It was the only place we stayed in that gave us a morning paper. The breakfast was very acceptable and as we had booked through trip advisor it was free too!! We would go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirFresheners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Spouse and self stayed here 1 x night ready for an early flight home next day. While this could be classed as an older motel it has lost nothing under the present management. Very comfortable and clean and great hosts. We booked due to the multiple favourable reviews on TA and were pleased that we did. Less than 5 minutes’ drive to the airport and a 2 minute walk to the RSA restaurant (use the buffet not the a’la carte room) for dinner suited us perfectly. Our thanks to Chris and Sharon. We wouldn't think twice about staying again if in Nelson.

Room Tip: Probably the best motel near the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PERTH
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at Amber Court Lodge in Nelson for two nights with another couple touring around New Zealand. Can highly recommend this accommodation. We had the two bedroom apartment and it was spacious and very well prepared. Chris was an excellent host. He not only told us what we could do in Nelson but enquired as to where we were going next and gave us a terrific walk to do out of Hokitika which was great. Wish we had asked what to do further down!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CazPerth47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Had not prebooked and saw Motel from the Road which looked OK. But upon driving in and staying. Very happy with ALL aspects. Staff are just lovely and appear to be very friendly with their guests and tourists. Lovely to see. And great value breakfasts which i would not normally partake in. Very close walking distance to the Beach - shops - restaurants

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed at the Amber Court Motel for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. Chris was an exceptional host. He guided us on where to go and what to do and we had a great time. He checked in on you regularly to make sure everything was going well. The room large and was very clean. The only issue was the shower had a drip but he was trying to get a plumber to come out to repair. The free Wi-Fi worked great for us with no issues. He had a small laundry room which allowed us to get our clothes done in the evening without taking away from our activities during the day. There were several great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyMountainMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Friendly, generous motel, with big rooms and a real free wifi - for all our devices (laptops, mobiles), unlike many motels and hotels in NZ which limits the wifi both in number of devices and data. The check out is at 10am but they let us stay for as long as we want.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uriroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#4 of 41 in Nelson
233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boutique Motel Nelson
Boutique Motel Nelson
#23 of 41 in Nelson
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Court Motel

Property: Amber Court Motel
Address: 190 Annesbrook Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Amber Court Motel we are all about you, our guest! Our units are ground floor,sunny and very spacious, for your comfort and parking at your door for your convenience. We are in the perfect location to explore Nelson and the region from,close to Nelson Airport, Tahuna Beach, WOW Museum and central to both Nelson City and Richmond and 45 minutes from the world famous Abel Tasman National Park and Kaiteriteri. We enjoy our guests and making your stay with us everything you need it to be, we love hearing where you have come from, sharing our great region with you and our favourite places to visit, then helping you with your onward travel plans. Come and stay and enjoy the Amber Court Experience, great hosts, great service, great value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing