We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmed in Nelson”
Review of Warwick House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Warwick House
Ranked #14 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Our week long visit to sunny Nelson was made perfect by our stay in the Warwick house. Nick and Jenny made us feel at home, and their excellent local knowledge helped us plan a wine tour, an unforgettable trip to the beautiful Abel Tasman National Park, as well as recommendations for restaurants that really showed off the gastronomic talent in the area.

The Warwick House itself is a beautifully restored historical building that is nestled at the bottom of the Grampians. These hills provided a wonderful area for afternoon walks that featured views over the entire Nelson area. The Ballroom was truly magnificent, and between the delicious breakfast served there in the morning to a cozy afternoon spent by the fire, it was almost hard to leave to explore the rest of town! We stayed in the Victorian Suite which was wonderfully decorated, complete with a comfortable bed, spacious living room, and a well stocked kitchenette.

Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustingcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

We spent two nights at this magnificent house. We asked for an upgrade as we read some of the reviews in Trip Advisor about the Daisy Jenner Room and realized that the room was on the small side. Don't know why the booking agent booked us in the room for a two night stay. We should have checked on the web earlier. The price was not an issue. However at a cost we were upgraded to a another room which was very comfortable. The house is on the hill and in walking distance from the city center but be aware the walk back is uphill. The young lady that looked after us was very friendly and helpfull but we were disappointed that the hosts didn't introduce themselves to us during our stay. I thought that it lacked the personal touch the you come to receive in a B&B establishment.

Room Tip: Carefully check the size of the room bofore you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank densmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Our overnight at Warwick House was memorable. The building has been restored with love and care and our room was very comfortable. Warwick House retains the feeling of a 19th century mansion yet with the amenities of a modern b and b. Our host was most gracious and we only wish we could have had more time to explore Nelson using Warwick House as our base. We would recommend Warwick House without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenH46066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our overnight stay at Warwick House. We were welcomed on arrival by our friendly hosts and were provided with delicious afternoon tea. We loved the charm of the restored manor and the setting on the hill. The suite was comfortable to stay in and was easy to heat given the chilly weather outside. Thoroughly recommend anyone to stay here and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We booked Warwick House for my birthday on Wotif. We had a great Wotif bargain for the Daisy Jenner room. Jenny offered us an upgrade (which included a lovely claw foot bath), which we happily accepted. The room was tastefully restored, warm and comfortable. Lovely to have a sitting room and dining table.
Jenny, Nick and Vicky were welcoming and lovely to talk to (and take for walks!)
Particular thanks to Jenny for looking after some items that we had left behind.
Wonderful to see a a house like this one rescued and restored.
Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Warwick House is a spectacular early Victorian home - just a few minutes lovely riverside walk down to Nelson city. We were really awed by the magnificient ballroom - The ceiling is 17' high and it has 4 large sets of windows - it sits up and look over Nelson city to the sea. We stayed here both before and after our hiking trip to Abel Tasman.
The upstairs rooms are just huge and have beautiful period furniture. The Bayview Suite must
be about 50sqm large, a huge 4 Poster double kingbed and the biggest clawfoot bath I have ever seen. What appealed to us the most is that this really feels like a very comfortable home,
not just a 'made for purpose' type standard hotel/bnb room. So much real character in the rooms. On our way to the Abel Tasman we stayed in one of the downstairs standard rooms,
this was still a very nice room with a good ensuite - it has a kitchenette (shared by both rooms) we all we needed for our own snacks and breakfast. - it has a nice very private deck. If we come back with our kids next year we would take both the 2 downstairs rooms so that we have a large complete area to ourselves. - If you can afford it, definetely go for the 'Large Suites' upstairs though - the Bayview and the Tower are amazing. The hosts Nick and Jenny just love the area and gave us so many great tips what to see and what to do - they seem to have done it all. - What we like was also being giving a sheet with tips for our onward drive out of Nelson.
We visit Pelorus River where scenes from the Hobbit Movie have just been filmed. (Found out afterwards that some of the film crew stayed at Warwick House too. We only had 1 breakfast there, but this was lovely - fresh fruit salad, home made muesli and delicious herb scrambled eggs. Warwick House is a huge property and Nick and Jenny are doing an amazing job for Nelson by keeping up this very valuable historic home - they should have our full support.
Don't expect a perfect 'sterile' hotel - this is more of a personal Bnb /'homestay' enjoy the
home comforts, the ambiance and the hosts knowledge of the area.
We booked directly and the rates were very good value considering the size of the house and the grounds. - The Wifi worked really well in both rooms that we had.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.9 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Greens Motel Nelson
Greens Motel Nelson
#33 of 42 in Nelson
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick House

Address: 64 Brougham Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: £69 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some nights of romance! Warwick House built in 1854 and just 5-10 mins. walk from the attractive center of 'sunny Nelson' is one of the finest early Victorian mansions in New Zealand. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Bayview or Tower suites, enjoy views over the city to the sea and gourmet breakfasts in the fully restored 'Grand Ballroom.' Many great walks and attractions are right on your doorstep.Direct boat service to Abel Tasman National Park, pickup from our doorstep. Enjoy Nelsons' famous 'Saturday Market' and all the great restaurants, cafes, craft centers and boutique ale houses. Direct bookings of 2 nights or more receive a complementary bottle of local wine (quote TripAdvisor-wine offer). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Warwick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick House Hotel Nelson
Warwick Nelson
Nelson Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing