We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Warwick House
Nearby Hotels
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saxton Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amber Court Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaches Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Greens Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castles Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Crest Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
134
51
18
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
51
18
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbayview suitetower roomgrand ballroombay view suiteb bvictorian stylepeacock roomball roomsmoking roommueslinew zealandclaw foot bathold mansionformer gloryfour poster bedother guestssouth island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

From the moment we turned into the gates we realised we had made a great Choice.
The accommodation was fantastic, Lovely atmosphere, Break fast was fantastic and very sociable as seating was such that guests could talk to each other.
The owners are charming and overall it was a very relaxing experience. We wished we had stayed more than our 2 nights.

Room Tip: If you need to have constant access to wifi have room close to office.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Many thanks Rod,

It was nice to have you back here again. Its' been a very busy Christmas and January so far, nice to see so many guests in Nelson enjoying all the great activities here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A beautiful place to stay if visiting Nelson! The Warwick House is a quiet location, ideally to explore Nelson. Jenny & Nick are lovely hosts, helpful and attentive. And the breakfast is tasty - try the homemade muesli! Thank you so much - we'll come again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phistoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Many thanks for your review, it was nice to have you here. Our Muesli has now been very popular with all the guests. The recipe is available on our website - or by email from us directly.
The tricky part is just knowing which ingredients to put into the over first and when to add all of the others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful charming place. Stayed in the victorian suite, a superior deluxe. Note there is no laundry dryer. I believe in being Eco friendly but it was cloudy and sprinkling a bit there and there was no place to hang laundry that I could find. The washing machine was a bit confusing for my group of Americans and loud as our neighbor got upset and was rude to us for washing laundry at night. Bring your own laundry detergent. Claw foot tub was in the living room area of the room which is a bit weird. Sofa bed was not the most comfortable, there are much better ones in the market. Kitchen refrigerator was tiny and froze my fresh Nelson market produce. Bath towels looked faded and felt a bit worn. Sound insulation is as expected for an older building. Room can feel a bit cold but there at portable heaters. There seem to be a few flies getting into the room as there is no window screen and some ants somehow getting in the shower. Wifi was included so that was nice! Hosts are friendly. Not sure if it was worth $200/night but I see it as a contribution to the upkeep of a historic landmark.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ltaimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thanks for your comments. If you aren't sure about something when you are staying, please ask !
there is a guest folder in the room with lots of information.
also the staff are really happy to help out. -
There is washing powder available, there are drying racks - and also a dryer if really needed.
We do have quite tough eco policy requirements from the local standards association, fortunately with Nelsons' amazing sunny climate we manage to sun dry 98% of all the guest linen and towels used here. Generally the pullout sofa is used by children rather than adults.
Additional single beds are available. We hope you have another chance to stay and have a breakfast in the ballroom with us then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for one night as part of a short break on the south island and wished it had been longer. Arriving late we were warmly welcomed and given some ideas as to how we could spend the following day in Nelson.

The house is an amazing building with lots of historic and quirky touches, our bedroom was huge, comfortable with amazing views, a lovely window seat and a huge bath!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Hi Phil, Many thanks for the nice comments. It was a pleasant to have you here.
We hope you will have more time on your next visit to Nelson !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

As Nelson locals we enjoyed our overnight stay in this spacious old residence, with the welcoming relaxed hospitality of our hosts, the splendour and ambience of this lovingly restored and well-appointed grand old piece of Nelson history .
Set on a sunny elevated site in the heart of the quiet, leafy inner city garden suburbs with views across the city to the bay, Warwick House is close to cafes, galleries, shops, and the Brook Waimarama Sanctuary with its bush walking tracks, stream and bird song, and the Dun Mt cycle and walking trails.
We appreciated being able to make our own tea, coffee in our room, while breakfast in the ballroom at the large table with the other guests, was a welcome opportunity to engage with visitors to Nelson. Breakfast with Jenny's muesli, fresh fruit & special breads was a nice treat.

Room Tip: Bayview Suite spacious and sunny, elevated with view to the north across the city, large tulip tree outside the east window attracted tui with its song to its flowers.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews