We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodation”
Review of Palms Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palms Nelson
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Fantastic location right by CBD, supermarket just across the road, restaurants a short walk away,room was so clean and tidy with modern facilities,lovely comfortable leather rocker. This motel would have to be the best sound proofed motel I have ever stayed in and there have been many, heard no one from next door either side or from upstairs.The water in the swimming pool was crystal clear, a fabulous pool, just the place for a hot summers day relaxing in the pool and unwinding in the comfortable poolside chairs, idyllic. Staff friendly and welcoming, strongly recommend Palms Nelson as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor afternoon sun, couldnt get better.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eab294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hi there, well it sounds like you had a great time staying with us. Our guests are always commenting on our location – its great being so close to town and right by a supermarket isn’t it?
So pleased the room was quiet for you. The pool is lovely as it is salt water and solar heated and as you say perfect for relaxing on a hot summers day.
We really hope to see you again in the future and thank you for staying with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Palms Nelson
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

The motel was clean and roomy.
A short, flat walk to the town centre. Great restaurants handy.
I loved the leather reclining chair!
The kitchen was compact and had everything we needed
The pool was clean, and great for a swim on a summers afternoon
The bed was too small, but we usually sleep in a super king, I kept bumping my husband in the night!
The supermarket is over the road, very handy
We didn't hear much noise, just people next door getting up really early, but you get that every where.
The bedroom has a small window so it was a little dark, but perfect for a long afternoon nap.
We would stay again.

Room Tip: Upstairs is fine.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to give us this lovely feedback. It is so good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and great to hear you loved the leather reclining chair.
Our beds are queen sized although some of our rooms have king beds in them so just ask to be put in a room with a king bed next time :)
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had a very comfortable stay in this very up to date motel. The bed was particularly comfortable and the room quite spacious.
Some of the upper rooms may lack privacy due to the access way which runs in front of the large window at the front of the room.
Robin help us with recommendations of places to visit.
There is a large supermarket nearby and the centre of town is only a short walk away.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the bed comfortable and room spacious.
Our windows are double glazed and tinted so we try to ensure as much privacy as possible in all rooms.
The supermarket is very handy being right across the road, our guests are always very pleased with the location.
Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our first experience of NZ motels was excellent thanks to the friendly and helpful staff, the modern design and ambience, the facilities and spaciousness of the Palms. It was also notably quiet.Minor quibbles were that its location, while good for town, was a drive away from the Boatyard and other good restaurants on the bay and the jacuzzi bath did not work ( but how good to supply one! ). Two nights at the Palms was the perfect way to enjoy the spectacular Nelson area and break our journey to the south.

Room Tip: Our room in the corner of the courtyard on the ground floor was particularly quiet and secluded.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73KJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Well that is lovely to hear, we are so glad to hear that your first impression of NZ motels was excellent from us. All our rooms are double glazed to ensure quietness in all areas of the motel. Regarding the Spa bath we do endeavour to tell everyone who has a spa bath to check above the vanity that the switch marked with spa is down and the bubbles will go.
Thank you for your feedback, We hope to see you again in the future and enjoy your time in New Zealand :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked a one bedroom apartment for 2 nights before our Abel Tasman coastal walk and one night after. This accommodation was ideal as we did not have a car and so getting around town to buy last minute trekking items such as cooking gas was perfect. An additional surprise was the spa bath, which was very welcome after the 4 day trek. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were able to store luggage whilst out on trek. Spacious and clean.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the one bedroom apartment
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dippy_sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Its great hearing how our guests have enjoyed their stay and that you found our location perfect and rooms spacious and clean. We hope to see you again in the future :) thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed at this motel for two nights. My original thought was to stay only one night but I found it to be so good I stayed a second night as well. The room was exceptionally clean the bed most comfortable the owner was most helpful in guiding me to where I needed to be the shops were close and within walking distance. There was a swimming pool close to the entrance off the road. All staff were most helpful to me well done to Cheyl and Robyn and all staff. Many thanks I will definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Hi there, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We love hearing that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and glad that we could help you in guiding you to where you needed to be. Thanks again for your feedback and we will see you when you are over in New Zealand next :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We arrived in Nelson without a reservation and the motels we had thought we might stay at in the city area were booked out. One kindly recommended we try the Palms Motel and I am pleased to say we found accommodation there and it was an absolutely lovely motel.

Spacious upstairs room with opening doors to balcony overlooking motel carpark area, comfortable bed, kitchen facilities, guest laundry, clothes line, swimming pool. A supermarket across the street, and a short walk to city centre restaurants. Reception staff were very helpful in recommending activities and organising a wine tour for us.

I think it was a better location than the motels we had originally looked at and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone staying in Nelson.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morris80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Hi there,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us. Our location is defiantly one point our guests love about us as we are so close to the supermarket and town centre.
We hope to see you again sometime soon and thank you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Nelson

Address: 5 Paru Paru Road | Cnr Halifax and Rutherford Sts., Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £84 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palms Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Nelson, New Zealand.The Palms Motel offers you modern, luxury apartments, with a choice of studio, executive or family suite accommodation.Set in landscaped grounds and located close to all local amenities, the Palms Motel gives the holidaymaker or business person the ideal home away from home. 28 Luxury Units/Apartments22 x Studio units: Floor area - 29 sq. metres each4 x 1 Bedroom luxury suites: Floor area - 36 sq. metres each2 x 2 Bedroom family units: Floor area - 73 sq. metres each Room Amenities:• Spa Baths (in 1 bdrm & 2 bdrm suites) • Sky TV • Kitchens in all Units • King & Queen size beds • Electric Blankets • Iron/ironing boards in all units • Satin-jet showers with massage • Hair dryers • Double glazed windows • Direct dial phones with modem access. Wireless internet available throughout complex • Recliner chairs and large flat screen LCD TVs in all units (in the lounge and for your convenience a smaller flat screen TV is located the bedroom)The fully fenced salt-swimming-pool is solar heated in summer and features a safe toddler’s pool. Also in the pool area is a large electric barbecue and dining area to use at your leisure. There is a guest laundry, plenty of off road parking and we are adjacent to many recreational facilities, for example there is a Supermarket directly across the street, along with Nelson Public Library and the famous Nelson Saturday Market is just 2 minutes walking distance. We are located just 100m from Nelson’s central shopping area with an abundance of choice for cafes restaurants and shopping. Tahuna Beach is just 5 minutes’ drive away.Your Host Cheryl has more than 20 years’ experience in the hospitality industry and understands travel and holiday needs intimately. Her aim is to make your stay comfortable and memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palms Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing