We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room - just shame about the noise from next door!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Palms Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palms Nelson
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Excellent room - just shame about the noise from next door!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Excellent location for walking in to Nelson to have a look around and to get some food. Swimming pool was very cold unfortunately and very small.
You could park directly in front of your room which was convienent - we had a ground floor room so had no balcony or outdoor seating which the up stairs rooms did have. We stayed in a lovely comfortable room and had a great nights sleep, the room had inter-connecting doors and the noise from the family next door was terribly loud - we had to turn the tv right up so we couldn't hear them, which was annoying! There was a small kitchen area in the room, which we didn't use only to make drinks. Shower had a really bad squeaking noise once hot!

Room Tip: Go for a upstairs level room, to have a nice balcony and table & chairs. Also ask for a non inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you had a lovely nights sleep in our comfy beds. We are sorry to hear that the room next door was noisy and we hope this hasn't put you off returning to us. Should you wish to visit again, we will do out up most to get you a room with a balcony.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again.

Palms Motel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    57
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
76
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed here for a few nights while on a big NZ trip. This is by far the best motel I have stayed in. The lady in reception was so lovely & helpful & asked us info about where we have come from, (Scotland!) she gave us a lot of info on Nelson. The room was really clean, had sky tv & the bathroom & kitchen areas were all we needed. There is a supermarket across the road which was good & had any bits we needed. Would highly recommend Palms Motel

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGFx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely feedback. It’s great to hear you found the room clean and bathroom and kitchen areas all you needed. Sounds like you had a great time in Nelson, we hope you see you again sometime soon and thank you again for your feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Fantastic location right by CBD, supermarket just across the road, restaurants a short walk away,room was so clean and tidy with modern facilities,lovely comfortable leather rocker. This motel would have to be the best sound proofed motel I have ever stayed in and there have been many, heard no one from next door either side or from upstairs.The water in the swimming pool was crystal clear, a fabulous pool, just the place for a hot summers day relaxing in the pool and unwinding in the comfortable poolside chairs, idyllic. Staff friendly and welcoming, strongly recommend Palms Nelson as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor afternoon sun, couldnt get better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eab294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi there, well it sounds like you had a great time staying with us. Our guests are always commenting on our location – its great being so close to town and right by a supermarket isn’t it?
So pleased the room was quiet for you. The pool is lovely as it is salt water and solar heated and as you say perfect for relaxing on a hot summers day.
We really hope to see you again in the future and thank you for staying with us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The motel was clean and roomy.
A short, flat walk to the town centre. Great restaurants handy.
I loved the leather reclining chair!
The kitchen was compact and had everything we needed
The pool was clean, and great for a swim on a summers afternoon
The bed was too small, but we usually sleep in a super king, I kept bumping my husband in the night!
The supermarket is over the road, very handy
We didn't hear much noise, just people next door getting up really early, but you get that every where.
The bedroom has a small window so it was a little dark, but perfect for a long afternoon nap.
We would stay again.

Room Tip: Upstairs is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to give us this lovely feedback. It is so good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and great to hear you loved the leather reclining chair.
Our beds are queen sized although some of our rooms have king beds in them so just ask to be put in a room with a king bed next time :)
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We had a very comfortable stay in this very up to date motel. The bed was particularly comfortable and the room quite spacious.
Some of the upper rooms may lack privacy due to the access way which runs in front of the large window at the front of the room.
Robin help us with recommendations of places to visit.
There is a large supermarket nearby and the centre of town is only a short walk away.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the bed comfortable and room spacious.
Our windows are double glazed and tinted so we try to ensure as much privacy as possible in all rooms.
The supermarket is very handy being right across the road, our guests are always very pleased with the location.
Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our first experience of NZ motels was excellent thanks to the friendly and helpful staff, the modern design and ambience, the facilities and spaciousness of the Palms. It was also notably quiet.Minor quibbles were that its location, while good for town, was a drive away from the Boatyard and other good restaurants on the bay and the jacuzzi bath did not work ( but how good to supply one! ). Two nights at the Palms was the perfect way to enjoy the spectacular Nelson area and break our journey to the south.

Room Tip: Our room in the corner of the courtyard on the ground floor was particularly quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73KJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Well that is lovely to hear, we are so glad to hear that your first impression of NZ motels was excellent from us. All our rooms are double glazed to ensure quietness in all areas of the motel. Regarding the Spa bath we do endeavour to tell everyone who has a spa bath to check above the vanity that the switch marked with spa is down and the bubbles will go.
Thank you for your feedback, We hope to see you again in the future and enjoy your time in New Zealand :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
259 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked a one bedroom apartment for 2 nights before our Abel Tasman coastal walk and one night after. This accommodation was ideal as we did not have a car and so getting around town to buy last minute trekking items such as cooking gas was perfect. An additional surprise was the spa bath, which was very welcome after the 4 day trek. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were able to store luggage whilst out on trek. Spacious and clean.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the one bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dippy_sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Its great hearing how our guests have enjoyed their stay and that you found our location perfect and rooms spacious and clean. We hope to see you again in the future :) thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Nelson

Property: Palms Nelson
Address: 5 Paru Paru Road | Cnr Halifax and Rutherford Sts., Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palms Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Nelson, New Zealand.The Palms Motel offers you modern, luxury apartments, with a choice of studio, executive or family suite accommodation.Set in landscaped grounds and located close to all local amenities, the Palms Motel gives the holidaymaker or business person the ideal home away from home. 28 Luxury Units/Apartments22 x Studio units: Floor area - 29 sq. metres each4 x 1 Bedroom luxury suites: Floor area - 36 sq. metres each2 x 2 Bedroom family units: Floor area - 73 sq. metres each Room Amenities:• Spa Baths (in 1 bdrm & 2 bdrm suites) • Sky TV • Kitchens in all Units • King & Queen size beds • Electric Blankets • Iron/ironing boards in all units • Satin-jet showers with massage • Hair dryers • Double glazed windows • Direct dial phones with modem access. Wireless internet available throughout complex • Recliner chairs and large flat screen LCD TVs in all units (in the lounge and for your convenience a smaller flat screen TV is located the bedroom)The fully fenced salt-swimming-pool is solar heated in summer and features a safe toddler’s pool. Also in the pool area is a large electric barbecue and dining area to use at your leisure. There is a guest laundry, plenty of off road parking and we are adjacent to many recreational facilities, for example there is a Supermarket directly across the street, along with Nelson Public Library and the famous Nelson Saturday Market is just 2 minutes walking distance. We are located just 100m from Nelson’s central shopping area with an abundance of choice for cafes restaurants and shopping. Tahuna Beach is just 5 minutes’ drive away.Your Host Cheryl has more than 20 years’ experience in the hospitality industry and understands travel and holiday needs intimately. Her aim is to make your stay comfortable and memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palms Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing