We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palms Nelson
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$107
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castles Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Crest Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
107
66
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
66
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountdown supermarketgreat locationsmall pool and bbq areawalking distance to the town centrelarge supermarketroom was clean and comfortablestayed for four nightsshower roommain shopsmotel unitssky channelsmodern facilitiesheated poolgreat tastewould stay here againgood sizeshort walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked two rooms and arrived tired after a few days in the Abel Tasman National Park. the reception staff were very helpful and really went the extra mile having already booked our restaurant for us. I left my mobile and glasses on the bed and we got these delivered to us at the airport. Now that really is service. With a Countdown store just across the road and good breakfast and dinner restaurants within walking distance we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sainty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, We are glad we could reunite you with your belongings. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for your feedback.
The Palms Motel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Excellent location for walking in to Nelson to have a look around and to get some food. Swimming pool was very cold unfortunately and very small.
You could park directly in front of your room which was convienent - we had a ground floor room so had no balcony or outdoor seating which the up stairs rooms did have. We stayed in a lovely comfortable room and had a great nights sleep, the room had inter-connecting doors and the noise from the family next door was terribly loud - we had to turn the tv right up so we couldn't hear them, which was annoying! There was a small kitchen area in the room, which we didn't use only to make drinks. Shower had a really bad squeaking noise once hot!

Room Tip: Go for a upstairs level room, to have a nice balcony and table & chairs. Also ask for a non interconnecting room so the noise was minimum.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you had a lovely nights sleep in our comfy beds. We are sorry to hear that the room next door was noisy and we hope this hasn't put you off returning to us. Should you wish to visit again, we will do out up most to get you a room with a balcony.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again.

Palms Motel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed here for a few nights while on a big NZ trip. This is by far the best motel I have stayed in. The lady in reception was so lovely & helpful & asked us info about where we have come from, (Scotland!) she gave us a lot of info on Nelson. The room was really clean, had sky tv & the bathroom & kitchen areas were all we needed. There is a supermarket across the road which was good & had any bits we needed. Would highly recommend Palms Motel

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGFx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely feedback. It’s great to hear you found the room clean and bathroom and kitchen areas all you needed. Sounds like you had a great time in Nelson, we hope you see you again sometime soon and thank you again for your feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Fantastic location right by CBD, supermarket just across the road, restaurants a short walk away,room was so clean and tidy with modern facilities,lovely comfortable leather rocker. This motel would have to be the best sound proofed motel I have ever stayed in and there have been many, heard no one from next door either side or from upstairs.The water in the swimming pool was crystal clear, a fabulous pool, just the place for a hot summers day relaxing in the pool and unwinding in the comfortable poolside chairs, idyllic. Staff friendly and welcoming, strongly recommend Palms Nelson as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor afternoon sun, couldnt get better.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eab294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hi there, well it sounds like you had a great time staying with us. Our guests are always commenting on our location – its great being so close to town and right by a supermarket isn’t it?
So pleased the room was quiet for you. The pool is lovely as it is salt water and solar heated and as you say perfect for relaxing on a hot summers day.
We really hope to see you again in the future and thank you for staying with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The motel was clean and roomy.
A short, flat walk to the town centre. Great restaurants handy.
I loved the leather reclining chair!
The kitchen was compact and had everything we needed
The pool was clean, and great for a swim on a summers afternoon
The bed was too small, but we usually sleep in a super king, I kept bumping my husband in the night!
The supermarket is over the road, very handy
We didn't hear much noise, just people next door getting up really early, but you get that every where.
The bedroom has a small window so it was a little dark, but perfect for a long afternoon nap.
We would stay again.

Room Tip: Upstairs is fine.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to give us this lovely feedback. It is so good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and great to hear you loved the leather reclining chair.
Our beds are queen sized although some of our rooms have king beds in them so just ask to be put in a room with a king bed next time :)
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews