We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy choice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palms Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palms Nelson
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Handy choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The rooms were very nice with tinted, double glazing and looked recently refurbished. There was everything you needed and it was warm overnight. The place is very handy to the city centre if you are walking. Whilst someone popped out quickly when I rung the bell, I was surprised that the office was closed so early at 6.30pm. Also unusually, the free WiFi was time constrained (an hour to be used all in one go) and this could be awkward. I prefer an amount which can be used anytime on & off during the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you noticed our recently refurbished rooms and overall enjoyed your stay. Our office hours are 7.30am-6pm however as mentioned in your comments we are still on site, and try to get to you as soon as possible. Unlimited WIFI is available at a cost of $10 which can be used at anytime on and off during the stay, sorry if you were not made aware of this when checking in.
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Palms Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    54
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
73
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The staff at this hotel are wonderful and super helpful! The room was clean and comfortable and the location is excellent 5 minute walk to center of town and a super market right across the road! I recommend this hotel as they have good rates and excellent service :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiaharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, General Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Georgia

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are glad that you had a fantastic stay, despite the few rainy days we had here in Nelson.
It was lovely having you as a guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Katie, Cheryl and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in Nelson at the Palms for 2 nights and it was lovely. First it has a laundry that even an North American can operate and after some 10 days in New Zealand this was a necessity. Reception was super with change and instruction - we did need some. My husband loved the place because it had more than only Australian and New Zealand television. Nelson (downtown) is quite small but it was accessible to us on foot and we both have some challenges with walking. Yes there is a grocery store across the way for wines and soft drinks and anything else one might desire. It was also walking distance to sites of interest (church) and restaurants. All and all we loved both Nelson and this hotel.

Room Tip: It is my view that rooms to the back of the complex (away from reception- and the street) are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popsicleCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi, Firstly thank you for your lovely review, we agree that the location here is fantastic and we are glad that it enabled you to visit lots of interesting places in Nelson. It sounds like you had a fantastic time and really made the most of your visit.
I am happy to hear that your husband found lots of interesting TV channels, the sports channels always seem to go down well.
We hope you have a fantastic time on the rest of your travels in New Zealand and we hope to see you again in the future.

Katie, Robyn and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My son and I stayed here for Marchfest. A short walk, across the road really, to the CBD but quite quiet. Room was spotlessly clean with full Sky decoder, not the usual cut down 10 channel service. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and our SKY channels :)

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and found the motel to be in an ideal location, a short walk to all the cafés and main shopping area. It is modern and spotlessly clean. We didn't cook any meals, but there is a supermarket right across the road which is handy.

We were attracted to booking the motel as the pool looked fantastic in the photos. However we were put off using it, as in reality it is in the middle of the car park. It would be nicer if it had a solid wall to make it more private.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RaqueDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you found the location of the hotel ideal and you were able to enjoy the surrounding area.
We are sorry that you did not get full use of the pool.
Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Palms Motel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked two rooms and arrived tired after a few days in the Abel Tasman National Park. the reception staff were very helpful and really went the extra mile having already booked our restaurant for us. I left my mobile and glasses on the bed and we got these delivered to us at the airport. Now that really is service. With a Countdown store just across the road and good breakfast and dinner restaurants within walking distance we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sainty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, We are glad we could reunite you with your belongings. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for your feedback.
The Palms Motel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Excellent location for walking in to Nelson to have a look around and to get some food. Swimming pool was very cold unfortunately and very small.
You could park directly in front of your room which was convienent - we had a ground floor room so had no balcony or outdoor seating which the up stairs rooms did have. We stayed in a lovely comfortable room and had a great nights sleep, the room had inter-connecting doors and the noise from the family next door was terribly loud - we had to turn the tv right up so we couldn't hear them, which was annoying! There was a small kitchen area in the room, which we didn't use only to make drinks. Shower had a really bad squeaking noise once hot!

Room Tip: Go for a upstairs level room, to have a nice balcony and table & chairs. Also ask for a non inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you had a lovely nights sleep in our comfy beds. We are sorry to hear that the room next door was noisy and we hope this hasn't put you off returning to us. Should you wish to visit again, we will do out up most to get you a room with a balcony.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again.

Palms Motel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
4.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Nelson

Property: Palms Nelson
Address: 5 Paru Paru Road | Cnr Halifax and Rutherford Sts., Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palms Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Nelson, New Zealand.The Palms Motel offers you modern, luxury apartments, with a choice of studio, executive or family suite accommodation.Set in landscaped grounds and located close to all local amenities, the Palms Motel gives the holidaymaker or business person the ideal home away from home. 28 Luxury Units/Apartments22 x Studio units: Floor area - 29 sq. metres each4 x 1 Bedroom luxury suites: Floor area - 36 sq. metres each2 x 2 Bedroom family units: Floor area - 73 sq. metres each Room Amenities:• Spa Baths (in 1 bdrm & 2 bdrm suites) • Sky TV • Kitchens in all Units • King & Queen size beds • Electric Blankets • Iron/ironing boards in all units • Satin-jet showers with massage • Hair dryers • Double glazed windows • Direct dial phones with modem access. Wireless internet available throughout complex • Recliner chairs and large flat screen LCD TVs in all units (in the lounge and for your convenience a smaller flat screen TV is located the bedroom)The fully fenced salt-swimming-pool is solar heated in summer and features a safe toddler’s pool. Also in the pool area is a large electric barbecue and dining area to use at your leisure. There is a guest laundry, plenty of off road parking and we are adjacent to many recreational facilities, for example there is a Supermarket directly across the street, along with Nelson Public Library and the famous Nelson Saturday Market is just 2 minutes walking distance. We are located just 100m from Nelson’s central shopping area with an abundance of choice for cafes restaurants and shopping. Tahuna Beach is just 5 minutes’ drive away.Your Host Cheryl has more than 20 years’ experience in the hospitality industry and understands travel and holiday needs intimately. Her aim is to make your stay comfortable and memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Palms Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing