We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palms Nelson
Nearby Hotels
Warwick House(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greens Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
109
66
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
66
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountdown supermarketgreat locationsmall pool and bbq areawalking distance to the town centrelarge supermarketroom was clean and comfortablestayed for four nightsshower roommain shopsmotel unitssky channelsmodern facilitiesheated poolgreat tastewould stay here againgood sizeshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I was booked in here by my company as I was attending a conference and there was no room left where it was being held. I think I got the better deal! My room was perfect. Very comfortable bed. Very quiet room. Breakfast was great (poached eggs) and there are charge back options with various cafés and eateries nearby. Very friendly helpful staff. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rosemary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Rosemary,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and your poached eggs ;)
We hope to see you again soon.

Cheryl, Robyn and Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The rooms were very nice with tinted, double glazing and looked recently refurbished. There was everything you needed and it was warm overnight. The place is very handy to the city centre if you are walking. Whilst someone popped out quickly when I rung the bell, I was surprised that the office was closed so early at 6.30pm. Also unusually, the free WiFi was time constrained (an hour to be used all in one go) and this could be awkward. I prefer an amount which can be used anytime on & off during the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you noticed our recently refurbished rooms and overall enjoyed your stay. Our office hours are 7.30am-6pm however as mentioned in your comments we are still on site, and try to get to you as soon as possible. Unlimited WIFI is available at a cost of $10 which can be used at anytime on and off during the stay, sorry if you were not made aware of this when checking in.
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Palms Motel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The staff at this hotel are wonderful and super helpful! The room was clean and comfortable and the location is excellent 5 minute walk to center of town and a super market right across the road! I recommend this hotel as they have good rates and excellent service :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgiaharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, General Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi Georgia

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are glad that you had a fantastic stay, despite the few rainy days we had here in Nelson.
It was lovely having you as a guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Katie, Cheryl and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in Nelson at the Palms for 2 nights and it was lovely. First it has a laundry that even an North American can operate and after some 10 days in New Zealand this was a necessity. Reception was super with change and instruction - we did need some. My husband loved the place because it had more than only Australian and New Zealand television. Nelson (downtown) is quite small but it was accessible to us on foot and we both have some challenges with walking. Yes there is a grocery store across the way for wines and soft drinks and anything else one might desire. It was also walking distance to sites of interest (church) and restaurants. All and all we loved both Nelson and this hotel.

Room Tip: It is my view that rooms to the back of the complex (away from reception- and the street) are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popsicleCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hi, Firstly thank you for your lovely review, we agree that the location here is fantastic and we are glad that it enabled you to visit lots of interesting places in Nelson. It sounds like you had a fantastic time and really made the most of your visit.
I am happy to hear that your husband found lots of interesting TV channels, the sports channels always seem to go down well.
We hope you have a fantastic time on the rest of your travels in New Zealand and we hope to see you again in the future.

Katie, Robyn and Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My son and I stayed here for Marchfest. A short walk, across the road really, to the CBD but quite quiet. Room was spotlessly clean with full Sky decoder, not the usual cut down 10 channel service. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and our SKY channels :)

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews