We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it appears”
Review of Harbourside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbourside Lodge
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2010

The Harbourside faces the Marina at Nelson which is pleasant, but all around the hotel is the working port. Nelson is not Rotterdam, but you must expect some noise from boats and trucks at odd hours day and night. The hotel itself though is very good and includes a complimentary continental breakfast. Good restaurant almost next door - which is just as well as it is about a 20 minute walk from Nelson centre

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rexbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2010

Our upstairs harbourview room was spacious,spotless with marina and mountain views. A nice pub/restaurant seconds away has charge back facilities - with excellent food and outside area. Within walking distance to downtown via the marina and boat repair sheds.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Harbourside Lodge is, as it's name suggests, by the yacht harbour and a little distance from town. The Jason's ad claims 10 minute walk but I think that's a little ambitious. A car would be an advantage here.

At first sight the location is not impressive - a mixture of llght industrial units, yacht builders etc., but also a nice pub / restaurant (Anchor) next door. However, if you can get a room overlooking the boats this is very pleasant.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and a free breakfast (continental plus cereals, ham, cheese etc) was a welcome bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

I have stayed at the Harbourside Lodge for over a month and it was a very pleasent stay for me.
The motel is located very privatly in the port area, with a great view over the marina with all its little sailing boats, the restaurant next door offers good food and they also offer a charge back option to the motel rooms.
Altough you could sometimes hear some noise from the port, it was not disturbing or problematic at all.
The room I was in was very clean, tidy and comfortable to live in for such a long time.
The staff was always very friendly and helpful with information and extra services such as my washing.
I have no complaints about this motel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2007

A middle-of-the-road two-storey motel located in the port area, about a 10-15 minute walk from the city centre. The neighbourhood is a bit bleak, but not problematic. The motel is a couple of blocks from the port, and a brochure does warn that there will be accompanying noise, although we didn’t hear any – that may have been due to the fact that we were there over the New Year’s Day holiday weekend. Clean rooms with basic but adequate furnishings, including a small refrigerator and an in-room safe. Pay a small premium for a harbourside view of many sailboats, although if you have a ground floor room that view is somewhat obstructed by one row of parked cars, so consider asking for a second floor room. A mediocre continental breakfast is included for free; an even less appealing hot breakfast costs NZ$8 extra. Owner Reinhardt went to extra lengths to pick up our group of six and our luggage from the airport on a Friday evening, which was much appreciated; the manager in his absence (Reinhardt’s son?) was very helpful with driving directions and onsite laundry facilities. Not a fancy place (I seriously question its Qualmark 4-star rating), but decent value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorontoTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bakonzimmer ist Pflicht bei dieser Lage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
684 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.9 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside Lodge

Address: 4 Duncan Street | Port Nelson, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £75 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourside Lodge is Nelson's only waterfront marina motel. Nelson Marina is the place to be, where you will be able to relax and unwind. All rooms have Sky TV, free WiFi and direct dial phones. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast or a cooked breakfast at an affordable price. The Harbourside Lodge has Sky guest select featuring over 50 channels in all rooms. The Nelson CBD is a easy 10 min walk and 10 minutes' drive from Nelson Airport. Due to the location next to the Nelson Marina, the Harborside Lodge is the ideal place for couples and corporate travellers to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbourside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing