We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we extended our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We booked 4 nights, but the suite was so nice and the team so helpful that we stayed an extra day. The location is a great base for visits to Kaiteriteri and Able Tasman, and only a short walk to the restaurants and shops, but still very quiet. The room (an upgrade!) was clean and well designed - and each day we came back to a room that looked as if we were the first guests to stay there!

We've noticed that "Excellent" recommendations are (deservedly) quite common in NZ - and that's nice to see, but makes it hard to spot the really standout places to stay.

I'll be sticking to 4* ratings for good hotels in future - but this is a lovely hotel with exceptional customer service, so it has to be a 5* from us!

Room Tip: Suggest calling Kiara direct to discuss rooms and any questions - she's super helpful!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cogran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is an unexpected surprise. I only booked it online moments before we arrived. I didn't mention that I had a toddler with us when I booked as we had our own travel cot. We had initially booked a 1 bedroom spa room however when we arrived, the amazing Kiara was not content with our accommodation. She (with out even thinking about it) upgraded us to the Presidential Suite so we would have more space for our baby to play in and for us to relax. WOW!! The room was impeccable. The cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. Kiara's warm and friendly hospitality is second to none. With in minutes, she was recommending restaurants, activities and kindly gave me a handful of complimentary DVD's to keep my daughter entertained. They have complimentary bikes for guests to ride and a small library of DVD's which are also complimentary. After showing me the laundry facilities, she practically did my washing for me and then delivered it back to my room. Our room was made (and tidied) every day. When we left, she came to our door as we were packing to say goodbye and wish us well on our way. The personal touch that she gives only enhances an already perfect experience. We will definitely be staying there again and can not recommend it enough. I work in the hospitality industry and have yet to see anyone match this level of service.. Warm, friendly, professional. Excellent!!! Don't give it another thought. BOOK THIS PLACE HOTEL IMMEDIATELY !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snuke11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Kiara & Bob have done it again. Fantastic experience for a second time. Room immaculate, staff very friendly and helpful. Kiarra & Bob made you feel like a star, always very eager to help. Will definately be back when we visit Nelson.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenslanderjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have stayed at the Palazzo on three occasions; every time I found it to be a haven of tranquility - beautifully furnished rooms and bathrooms with plenty of space, spotlessly clean and with all the little touches taken care of. It is also perfectly situated for an easy stroll into Nelson's main shopping areas or the amazing farmers' market. Kiara and Bob are wonderful hosts, incredibly welcoming and full of great local advice. I would absolutely recommend the Palazzo to anyone visiting Nelson.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a centrally located , cozy travel lodge. The CBD is just a short walk from the hotel.
The couple running the place are friendly and helpful.The rooms are clean and adequate. Internet is frightfully expensive. This is a significant downside. These days of continuous connectivity and the need to communicate is absolutely essential without ripping your pocket.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maniramu18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Got to the lodge to be greeted by a really lovely Irish lady at reception. She was really helpful and really friendly which made you feel so welcome and happy. After explaining where things were around town and what there was to do she took me and my wife to our room. The lodge is really nicely laid out and looks stylish and modern. Our room was really modern looking with expensive furniture inside, lovely bathroom with a heated mirror so it doesn't steam up whilst showering, perfect for men to shave whilst waiting for their wifey to do their business :), lovely spa bath with heater incase you don't want to get out and the water gets cold. The bed was really comfortable and tv was good. Wish there was wifi though. Lovely little balcony to sit outside and enjoy the views too. The lodge is situated near to the town centre and just a 3 minute walk to the restaurants and shops. Me and my wife only stayed a short while but loved every minute of it, a perfect stay all round.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We hadn't pre-booked any accommodation and so were very happy to find the Palazzo as we were tired from a full days travelling. Kiara made us very welcome and showed us to our well appointed and lovingly decorated and absolutely spotless unit. Kiara gave us information on the local eateries and given, this lovely Lodge, is only a few minutes walk from the city centre it was perfect for us. We loved our accommodation so much we ended up booking an extra night. Kiara and Bob were perfect hosts and we would thoroughly recommend The Palazzo to anyone travelling to Nelson.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
486 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Motor Lodge

Address: 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £82 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Motor Lodge offers 16 stylish apartments, each an individual expression of luxury living. Our central Nelson location is ideal for Company Representatives, Business Travelers and we are close to Conference facilities. You can choose from studios, one bedroom apartments and executive apartments. Celebrating a wedding, anniversary or just feel like spoiling yourself? Then come and experience our 'Presidential' or 'Ambassador' suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Motor Hotel Nelson
Palazzo Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing