We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again and already did”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

On our family's way to/from Abel Tasman National Park we stayed overnight in both directions. It's what you'd expect from such a highly rated TripAdvisor property - clean, quiet, updated and in a super convenient location (few minute walk from the restaurants/shops in Nelson). What makes this place superior is the friendly assistance from Kira. She is knowledgable and helpful, made us feel right at home with a friendly attitude that made for two super great stays. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank hjss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

My girlfriend and I spent two nights at the Palazzo motor lodge at the beginning of December this year. This was a second stay for me as I had also stayed in August 2008, safe to say that the excellent standards have continued! The owner / hostess Kiara is an energetic and helpful lady, it was nice that she had remembered me from my previous visit. The room we stayed in was very luxurious with a full kitchen, breakfast bar, and spa bath just some of the nicer details! The bed itself was fantastic, a modern matress not like some of the obviously cheaper ones you can get in other places. Breakfast options are many and the full cooked breakfast hit the spot perfectly! The rooms were spotless and the small details like the anti-fog glass cleaner used on the mirror was a memorable little touch. The personal advice from Kiara to visit Hopgoods restaurant for dinner resulted in our best dinner experience of our entire trip. I understand why it is her favourite place to eat out in town....great hosts and a very enjoyable stay here and we would be sure to return some day!

Room Tip: If you want to make yourself lunches etc choose the room with kitchenette, best we've had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemmyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed 2 weeks driving around the South Island in November. First stop was Nelson for 2 nights staying at Palazzo. It was the best out of all our accommodation - highly recommended with a nice large room and excellent kitchen. Only downside was view over car sales lot, but hey you are in a "city' so didn't really matter. Keira the owner was very helpful and friendly ( as all New Zealanders are! She recommended Hopgoods for dinner, a 3 minute walk away, which was excellent. She also gave good advice on getting the most out of our day trip to Abel Tasman. I highly recommend Palazzo!.

Room Tip: Although no view, this is compensated by excellent central location to shops and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisW311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having stayed in the Palazzo the three times I have visited Nelson I cant imagine staying anywhere else when visiting.
The quality of the rooms is second to none and the service is of the highest level.
Having worked in tourism for years I learnt a lot from watching Kiara and her team dealing with customers.
Kiara really goes out of her way and works above and beyond the call of duty to ensure every guests stay is special.
I could not recommend a stay in the Palazzo any more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldtravelerAdvenur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We booked 4 nights, but the suite was so nice and the team so helpful that we stayed an extra day. The location is a great base for visits to Kaiteriteri and Able Tasman, and only a short walk to the restaurants and shops, but still very quiet. The room (an upgrade!) was clean and well designed - and each day we came back to a room that looked as if we were the first guests to stay there!

We've noticed that "Excellent" recommendations are (deservedly) quite common in NZ - and that's nice to see, but makes it hard to spot the really standout places to stay.

I'll be sticking to 4* ratings for good hotels in future - but this is a lovely hotel with exceptional customer service, so it has to be a 5* from us!

Room Tip: Suggest calling Kiara direct to discuss rooms and any questions - she's super helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cogran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is an unexpected surprise. I only booked it online moments before we arrived. I didn't mention that I had a toddler with us when I booked as we had our own travel cot. We had initially booked a 1 bedroom spa room however when we arrived, the amazing Kiara was not content with our accommodation. She (with out even thinking about it) upgraded us to the Presidential Suite so we would have more space for our baby to play in and for us to relax. WOW!! The room was impeccable. The cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. Kiara's warm and friendly hospitality is second to none. With in minutes, she was recommending restaurants, activities and kindly gave me a handful of complimentary DVD's to keep my daughter entertained. They have complimentary bikes for guests to ride and a small library of DVD's which are also complimentary. After showing me the laundry facilities, she practically did my washing for me and then delivered it back to my room. Our room was made (and tidied) every day. When we left, she came to our door as we were packing to say goodbye and wish us well on our way. The personal touch that she gives only enhances an already perfect experience. We will definitely be staying there again and can not recommend it enough. I work in the hospitality industry and have yet to see anyone match this level of service.. Warm, friendly, professional. Excellent!!! Don't give it another thought. BOOK THIS PLACE HOTEL IMMEDIATELY !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snuke11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Kiara & Bob have done it again. Fantastic experience for a second time. Room immaculate, staff very friendly and helpful. Kiarra & Bob made you feel like a star, always very eager to help. Will definately be back when we visit Nelson.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenslanderjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
688 reviews
1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.6 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 41 in Nelson
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Motor Lodge

Address: 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £77 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Motor Lodge offers 16 stylish apartments, each an individual expression of luxury living. Our central Nelson location is ideal for Company Representatives, Business Travelers and we are close to Conference facilities. You can choose from studios, one bedroom apartments and executive apartments. Celebrating a wedding, anniversary or just feel like spoiling yourself? Then come and experience our 'Presidential' or 'Ambassador' suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Motor Hotel Nelson
Palazzo Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing