We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Hotels of the Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the Best Hotels of the Trip”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Had a great experience during our 3 nights at the Palazzo. Kira was of great help both with getting checked in and getting our Nelson area itinerary planned. We were really impressed with the layout of the room and the quality of furniture/items. Bed was comfortable and room/facility were very clean. The location was great as well; just a short walk to the restaurant/pub district. We compared all our other hotels against this one as it set the bar pretty high. We loved the Nelson area and we loved this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamRib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    60
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
318
48
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed for three nights over the weekend, and were subjected to great hospitality by Bob and Kiara......stayed in the presidential suite, which was just beautiful. Amenities were wonderful, and we were given great advice re Nelson, and the fine dining to be had there. Hope to be back there some day, and repeat this great experience.
As an added bonus...Kiara cooks wonderful poached eggs!
Great memories!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Wife and I came to NZ for our honeymoon, and worked our way through both North and South Islands, starting all the way up north. Palazzo was the best place we stayed at on the South Island. Everything was absolutely perfect. Kira upgraded us to a suite, which was a nice surprise. The room was spotless. Every amenity you could need was there. The place is no more than a 5 minute walk from Nelson town center. Although it's on a main road, there is absolutely no noise at night.The owners are amazingly helpful. Before we even arrived, we had some delays with the ferry over from Wellington, and Kira readily agreed to stay into the late hours until we arrived, way after check-in time. She recommended the best places to eat, and provided a great deal of other very helpful info about things worth seeing in the area. To call her super accomodating is an understatement. If you are exploring the north of the South Island, this is where I would stay. Thanks from both me and my wife for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Palazzo were No 1 on Tripadvisor in Nelson when we stayed 3 years ago and the reputation was well deserved. We stayed again recently for 3 nights and we can see how easy it us to lose the No 1 spot. We had exactly the same suite and enjoyed the peace and quiet and handy location to the city and all it has to offer. But minor lapses in servicing the room meant we had to ask for bathroom and kitchen supplies. Probably just staff training issues, but this is what the ratings are all about. Couldn't really fault the room and inside cleanliness but a few spider webs on balconies etc also tell a story.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the complex away from busy Rutherford Street for quietness. Ambassador...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatchNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Palazzo in Nelson in mid-January. It was a 5-star experience in every way.

Location is excellent, within easy walking distance of the center of town, on a major street running through the middle of town, yet quiet at night with no road noise.

The rooms are immaculate, very modern and well furnished & equipped. Attention to detail on things large and small is evident throughout (examples, plush carpeting better than ours at home; high-quality dishes, glasses, and kitchen equipment, etc).

We got a free double upgrade because we were staying 4 nights and the owner, Kiara, felt we needed a comfortable room and good rest after a long travel day from the North Island and the torturous drive from Picton. The Ambassador Suite is superb, and at the price of a standard suite, a steal.

The owners/hosts are wonderful. Bob, Kiara's husband, helped carry our bags up to the 2nd floor apt (we're traveling for 5 weeks and have heavy bags). Kiara was full of helpful information on where to eat, what to see and do, etc. She even helped with our laundry on the last day, transferring it from the small drier set aside for guests to the big commercial-size drier used by housekeeping, to make sure it dried soon enough.

I can't remember every staying at a finer "motel." It has the feel of boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade if they have vacancies. We loved the Ambassador Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drsdg-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

SWe had a lovely two nights at Palazzo Motor Lodge. They had a cancelled room and in the 10 minutes we were checking in for three people came in looking for the room, its a very busy place and you are well advised to book early if you want to stay there. The room was lovely and very well equipped, we even had a dishwasher. I have to make a special mention of Kiara who we drove mad. She never complained and could not do enogh for us, I am sure she was very relieved when we left! Thank you Kiara!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

On our family's way to/from Abel Tasman National Park we stayed overnight in both directions. It's what you'd expect from such a highly rated TripAdvisor property - clean, quiet, updated and in a super convenient location (few minute walk from the restaurants/shops in Nelson). What makes this place superior is the friendly assistance from Kira. She is knowledgable and helpful, made us feel right at home with a friendly attitude that made for two super great stays. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hjss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Motor Lodge

Property: Palazzo Motor Lodge
Address: 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Motor Lodge offers 16 stylish apartments, each an individual expression of luxury living. Our central Nelson location is ideal for Company Representatives, Business Travelers and we are close to Conference facilities. You can choose from studios, one bedroom apartments and executive apartments. Celebrating a wedding, anniversary or just feel like spoiling yourself? Then come and experience our 'Presidential' or 'Ambassador' suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Motor Hotel Nelson
Palazzo Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing