We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service makes a wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Port Augusta
2 reviews
“Good service makes a wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We spent 6 nights at the Palazzo Motor Lodge in early Sept and had a wonderful holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for Kiara or Bob and the recommendations we received were excellent. We tried 3 resturants that Kiara suggested and found them to be excellent for both food and service. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, had everything we needed for an extended stay. We walked to the city centre and resturants as it was close enough to not make driving necessary. Very good if you want to have a drink with dinner. Overall it was a pleasure to stay at the Plazzo and we would not think of staying any where else in Nelson.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    60
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
318
48
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

I travel a lot for work and found the Palazzo in Nelson by chance. It is by far the nicest accommodation that I have found in this price range. Bob and Kiera are amazing, the rooms are spotless, with little extras that really matter. It is so nice to have fluffy coloured towels as opposed to bleached white stiff ones.
The breakfasts are amazing value for money, I selected the healthy option and received a large bowl of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and vogels bread.
The location is excellent, quick walk into town or up to the beautiful hills and gardens.
I recommend this accommodation to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romeochristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I recently stayed at Palazzo Motor Lodge in Nelson for two nights. I fell in love with the elegant room that had all facilities I needed to ensure comfort, security and access to customers via the business centre in the room. Keira and her staff were welcoming and friendly and went the extra mile to assist me with all requirements-especially when I left some items behind.!
I will definitely make the Palazzo my 'accomodation of choice' in Nelson and recommend to colleagues and friends.
Signed:
Jude

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

we arrived without a booking on 27 August and were lucky enough to get one of the Palazzo's one-bedroom apartments. Very tastefully furnished with great thick fluffy towels. Kiara and Bob were extremely helpful with local restaurant recommendations and their advice was spot on. We were actually booked with another motel for the 29th but elected to cancel this reservation and finished up staying at the Palazzo for 3 nights. Any future stays in Nelson will be at the Palazzo which is also very centrally located to the dining and entertainment centre of Nelson

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVPAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed at the Palazzo in August for 4 nights and were very impressed by the place in all respects. Good and not so good points below:
Good points:
The owners (Kiara and Bob) could not have been more friendly and helpful.
Location is excellent, just a few minutes walk away from the centre of town and the shops.
Rooms were spotlessly clean and well maintained, the carpet look brand new in our room.
Not so good points:
Nothing really, the only thing worthy of mention was that we stayed in the presidential Suite and it would have been nice for this to have 2 bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingDoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We were pleased to stay here and enjoy the good clean rooms and caring management and advice from Kiara. As other reviews have emphasised this is a motor lodge and not a glamorous hotel with a view - but it is a delight to stay somewhere where the proprietors are passionate to produce the best product possible. We appreciated the efforts made in making our stay a pleasant one. We took a room (grandly called the Presidential Suite) consisting of two bedrooms and a lounge - this worked well and was on the ground floor at the rear of the property, quiet and backing onto the historic street area of downtown. Nelson offers many eating choices within two blocks of the motel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We stayed a total of 5 nights at the Palazzo. Fantastic, quality accommodation with a really helpful owner for whom nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Motor Lodge

Property: Palazzo Motor Lodge
Address: 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Motor Lodge offers 16 stylish apartments, each an individual expression of luxury living. Our central Nelson location is ideal for Company Representatives, Business Travelers and we are close to Conference facilities. You can choose from studios, one bedroom apartments and executive apartments. Celebrating a wedding, anniversary or just feel like spoiling yourself? Then come and experience our 'Presidential' or 'Ambassador' suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Motor Hotel Nelson
Palazzo Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing