We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 October 2009

The service was great. Kiara was awesome and went out of her way to make our stay a grat one.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamOnd8Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    59
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
51
317
48
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Central position yet quiet, our own private apartment with all facilities including spa bath, the unit sparklingly cleaned each day, and beautifully appointed including comfy bed. Our car just outside the door, flowerbeds brim-full of spring pansies and more. But what made this place so outstanding was Kiara who combined friendly, discreet management and perfect concierge advice with service above the call of duty when we discovered one of our tyres had gone as flat as a pancake on our first of three nights. In fact it was she who discovered the tyre and then masterminded the repair of the tyre with absolutely no inconvenience, no charge and all within 20 minutes. When it turned out my laptop considered itself in a wireless shadow (internet a small extra daily charge) Kiara also spent around an hour trying to fix the problem and finally connected us via cable ethernet.
We almost booked a more expensive bed and breakfast but I am so pleased I decided to go with the Palazzo - we easily strolled to the delicious Hopgood's restaurant, Nelson cathedral, Jens Hansen (Lord of the Rings) jeweller and Nelson's wonderful Saturday markets, could have borrowed bikes at no charge if we had wanted and fell in love with Nelson.
Highest recommendations We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Beautifully furnished rooms with lots of comforting touches including a fax machine for business and a music centre for when the day is finished. Everything is top drawer and Kiara is a great hostess who looks after her guests well. There are even bicycles on hand to use if the urge takes you. I look forward to my stays there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were quite and well designed, modern and clean. The second bedroom was small but manageable for a short time. The highlight of the hotel are owners who bent over backwards to accommodate our needs and give us the 'low down' on Nelson.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2009

I stayed at the Plazzo Motel from September 22 - 26. Kiara the Proprietor is an awesome host, friendly, helpful and easy to communicate with. After a day of exploration, I found that the location of the motel was very convenient, close to the shops, close to my conference venue and close to the night life.

Unit 103 is spacious, clean and well equiped with modern technology, including a full kitchen facility, large bathroom and toilet area. I especially like the smell of the shampoos and body cream.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Plazzo to anyone looking for quality accomodation in Nelson. If I ever return i will not hesitate to book a room.

Thanks heaps
Dora.

Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pasifikqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Augusta
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We spent 6 nights at the Palazzo Motor Lodge in early Sept and had a wonderful holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for Kiara or Bob and the recommendations we received were excellent. We tried 3 resturants that Kiara suggested and found them to be excellent for both food and service. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, had everything we needed for an extended stay. We walked to the city centre and resturants as it was close enough to not make driving necessary. Very good if you want to have a drink with dinner. Overall it was a pleasure to stay at the Plazzo and we would not think of staying any where else in Nelson.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

I travel a lot for work and found the Palazzo in Nelson by chance. It is by far the nicest accommodation that I have found in this price range. Bob and Kiera are amazing, the rooms are spotless, with little extras that really matter. It is so nice to have fluffy coloured towels as opposed to bleached white stiff ones.
The breakfasts are amazing value for money, I selected the healthy option and received a large bowl of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and vogels bread.
The location is excellent, quick walk into town or up to the beautiful hills and gardens.
I recommend this accommodation to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romeochristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
457 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.1 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Motor Lodge

Property: Palazzo Motor Lodge
Address: 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Motor Lodge offers 16 stylish apartments, each an individual expression of luxury living. Our central Nelson location is ideal for Company Representatives, Business Travelers and we are close to Conference facilities. You can choose from studios, one bedroom apartments and executive apartments. Celebrating a wedding, anniversary or just feel like spoiling yourself? Then come and experience our 'Presidential' or 'Ambassador' suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Motor Hotel Nelson
Palazzo Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing