We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Aloha”
Review of Aloha Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aloha Lodge
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights in an upgraded room - one in a tower, octagonal in shape, quirky and fun being large and with good views across the park to the beach. Facilities included a comprehensive kitchenette, large corner bath with jacuzzi, sauna (yes, sauna), free breakfast, free use of internet laptop, tea & coffee on the go all day. Staff were brilliant, nothing too much trouble. Only downside was the restaurant was a bit utilitarian (was a backpackers hostel at one time and they have plans to improve this area) but overall I loved the place. If you can get the better room, and I don't have knowledge of the standard accommodation, I don't think you could better The Aloha.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the suites in the towers, well worth the extra cost. Arrive with some basics (bisc...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Aloha Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed one night 10/3/13 and we were very happy with the accomadation. Our room was very good, plenty big enough for what we wanted and ensuite. Nicely laid out with drink facilities although no air con which initially was a concern as the room was very hot when we arrived in the afternoon due to the large glass windows but that changed in the evening and did not affect us. We were used to cooking our meal in the evening as self touring and were allwed by the staff to use the main kitchen. Manager even got us some wine glasses. We were able to eat outside in the warm evening and also had our supplied continental breakfast there in the morning. Breakfast was fine. We were told premises had new owners who planned to update the rooms and therefore we would expect the facilities to be even better. Would highly recommend it. Ample offstreet parking. Would agree with other reviewer re Asian style, made the premises just that little bit different and just hope new owners don't change it too much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brave-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine L, Manager at Aloha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback which is always so important. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Aloha Lodge and pleased to hear you spent time in our lovely garden setting having your meal. We hope to see you back some day when our property wil be "even better". Kind Regards
Justine and Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed 3 nights. There's something very quirky about this place with it's Asian pagoda look and large Chinese decorative vases. Saying that if you are looking for somewhere with easy access to Tahunanui beach you can't go wrong.
I believe new owners took over 6 weeks ago so top marks for such a friendly welcome on arrival and all the staff we met were great. Room was clean and towels changed daily.
There's parking onsite, and plenty of restaurants, bars, take-a-way places in walking distance. I can definitely recommend The Sands fish & chip shop with gluten free batter and run by professional chef.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My wife and I had 4 nights in Nelson due to a wedding and chose to stay at the Aloha Lodge. Close to the beach a number of bars and restaurants we found this accommodation exceeded our expectations. The bathroom while simple in design had a massive makeup bench and good lighting which my wife loved. Besides a warm welcome from Justine we found the room to meet our expectations, continental breakfast excellent and any staff that we encountered friendly and courteous. Loved the smell of the sea air!

Room Tip: The managers Nick and Justine were focused on providing service excellence and great advice on where...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ascotpark080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The staff were friendly, the breakfast was continental. The rooms were fine and clean and the bathroom very spacious. No air con though. Very close to the beach which was lovely, but no supermarket nearby, you had to go into Nelson TC but with no car it was too long a walk.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I think having the hand rail by the shower and toilet an excellent idea but the tiles were slippy so needs to have non slip ones put down for safety. The room was clean and tidy and the towels changed daily. The only thing that needed to be cleaned was the venetian blind in the bathroom which was very dusty. Excellent features as regards window locks so air can be let in as it was very hot. Tea and coffee making facilities provided and the complimentary continental breakfast was great with a good variety. Would recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a studio room which was spacious and big enough for two people with a good size bathroom.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroldasilva70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed there for one night in the studio room. Very comfortable and clean. Good wifi. Breakfast included. It's a short drive to the golf course if you are into that, and a shorter walk to the beach. It's about 5 klms out of the cbd but there are enough restaurants and shops in the area so you don't have to go into the main part of town anyway.
The staff could not do enough to help, they even helped with our ongoing accommodation. The phoned ahead to a place in Arrowtown and also to our Milford Sound trip. Nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
486 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
673 reviews
1.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
2.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Lodge

Address: 19 Beach Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £46 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast, Aloha Lodge is just 2 minutes' walk from Nelson's beautiful Tahunanui Beach. We offer Free View Channels. Some rooms also have saunas and a spa baths. Aloha Lodge is close to Nelson Airport and Nelson City is an 8 minute drive away. There are several restaurants and bars within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aloha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing