We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Aloha Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloha Lodge
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Check in was friendly and efficient. Hotel is very clean and the staff make every effort to make you feel welcome. We were given good advice re where to eat, what to see and directions etc.
Room was basic. Bed was comfy but pillows very poor quality. Bed linen and towels were clean, if well worn. Good quality tea, coffee and biscuits were provided. Limited storage space but we only stayed 2 nights so fine for us. Our room looked onto a working yard which was very busy and noisy from 7.30 each morning. Again, no problem to us but may be if you like a lie in. Bathroom was large with a good shower and lots of hot water. However it was cold as the only heating was a towel rail.
The breakfast consisting of cereal, toast and preserves was of very good quality and kept well stocked.
Location was fine, lovely to walk in the park and along the sand. Town was a 40 minute walk along a busy road.
Would stay again if in Nelson.
There was a computer for guests use in the lounge and laundry facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is our second time staying at Aloha Lodge and it is fabulous.
It is super clean and has lots of extras BBQ and breakfast and the garden idyllic setting is superb. But the service is outstanding. The people who work here are just so helpful and go out of their way to make your stay so wonderful.
Connie in particular was just amazing. Thank you For absolutely everything. We loved it here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We booked this place without too much care because we really only needed a bed for the night, and to be fair it met that need. We found it very well located, very close to Tahuna beach and eateries, and also it was clean. The architecture is a bit of a surprise, dated and faux pagoda, we thought we were beachside in Nelson New Zealand? On the down side, the parking is limited, the decor is very dowdy, and we were disturbed early in the morning by hordes of kids careering around the corridors and outside the windows - seemed like a soccer team was in for the weekend. The pillows on the bed were pretty aged and flat too. Wouldn't hurry back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha L, Owner at Aloha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We're sorry to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. We had identified the pillow issue and they are being replaced with double the quantity as we speak. Also our refurbishment is underway with the outside being painted now and the inside due to start at the end of the month. Hopefully you will come back and stay again, we'd love to show you the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed here for a week in June. Was lucky to get the tower suite and was stunned by the size of the rooms, its not often you get your own sauna. Nick and Justine run a great ship, very welcoming and accommodating. Agree that the rooms are a little dated but it doesnt make any difference to the enjoyment of the place.Though it was winter the rooms were warm and the sun coming thru the windows was always welcoming. Some good restaurants and bars within walking distance and on a sunny morning the walk into town takes just 40 minutes, maybe more if you stop for a coffee at a cafe along the waterfront walkway.
I will be back and hopefully be put in the tower again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed four nights in this accommodation and really enjoyed. Hosts and staff were all very friendly and nothing was a bother. Rooms a little dated but clean and tidy. Comfortable bed. Well equiped. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine L, Manager at Aloha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Hi Patricia
Thank you for choosing to stay at Aloha Lodge and for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Justine, Nick and the Aloha Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed two nights. Loved this motel! Nick and Justine were very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfy, free Wi fi, well equipped kitchenette. We stayed in the tower apartment, which was lovely and warm, light and sunny. An older motel that will be even better once refurbished.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine L, Manager at Aloha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Marg T. Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Aloha and look forward to welcoming you back again next time your travel north.
Kind Regards
Nick, Justine and the Aloha Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Having driven round most of Nelson in search of at least a half-decent motel we finally alighted on the Aloha Lodge and very grateful we were too. Janine immediately upgraded us to the quirky 'tower suite' and everything was indeed, fine and dandy. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped, the plentiful breakfast more than adequate and close proximity to a cracking beach, ideal. If you're staying in Nelson you could do a whole lot worse than checking into the Aloha, so much so we doubled our stay and didn't regret anything.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera_Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
2.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
684 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 41 in Nelson
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Lodge

Address: 19 Beach Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast, Aloha Lodge is just 2 minutes' walk from Nelson's beautiful Tahunanui Beach. We offer Free View Channels. Some rooms also have saunas and a spa baths. Aloha Lodge is close to Nelson Airport and Nelson City is an 8 minute drive away. There are several restaurants and bars within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aloha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing