We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wakefield Quay House
Ranked #4 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
“Hospitality plus”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A stunning character home with amazing views over the water. Woodi and Johnny were very hospitable hosts. A fun time at their luxury B & B, lots of stories and laughs over evening drinks and a beautiful breakfast. Highly recommended, would love to stay again one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottjanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
163
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Beautiful old house kept in incredible condition and filled with warmth and love. Woodi and Johnny are the perfect hosts - funny, friendly, lots of good stories, and lots of helpful travel advice. Beautiful rooms with million-dollar views. Would go back in heartbeat.

Room Tip: I stayed in the smaller room and my parents stayed in the larger one. Both were exceptional; both sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Had the best time at Wakefield Quay House. We stayed here on our way to Kaiteriteri. Woodi and Johnny are lovely people and Woodi went out of her way to accommodate us and make sure everything was just right. We really enjoyed our drinks with her at night and highly recommend a restaurant she booked for us, The Boat house I think it was called. . Our room was superb and the view over the ocean was so nice to wake up to. Just wished we'd stayed longer. Breakfast was sensational can't say enough about this place. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Nelson thank you Woodi and Johnny.

Room Tip: Both rooms looked fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was a totally wonderful experience: Woodi is an over-the-top hostess. The house is lovely, welcoming and relaxed with great views over the harbour. Our room was spacious, with a super-comfortable bed, and Woodi's breakfasts are amazing, in presentation, style and taste. If you are lucky enough to find a room available at this B&B, BOOK IT IMMEDIATELY before your chance is lost!!! All this and drinks and nibbles on the huge patio late afternoon. We can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Woodi is a fantastic hostess along with her guest house. There was nothing she couldn't help with. Very knowledgeable of the area and restaurants. Supplied us with a full day car trip which was brilliant. Have to mention the view was stunning from our room and 'loo'!! The 'happy hour' at 6pm is not to be missed. A chance to meet the other guests and of course valuable time with Woodi and Johnny. All in all 'The perfect place to stay'. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita-Derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for just a couple of nights here recently and can only say this is a fantastic place to stop. Woodi and Johnny are tremendous hosts and a lot of fun. Our room was excellent with a balcony and stunning view over to Haulashore Island. The breakfasts were exceptional quality, thanks Woodi. The evening drinks, nibbles and conversation were so delightful and relaxing. An absolute must if you're staying in Nelson. Thanks again to both of you for a fantastic time. I still want the pewter Dalek salt and pepper cellars though :))

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksarul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our stay at Wakefield Quay House has proven to be the highlight of our lengthy holiday trip in New Zealand. The house itself is charming. It boasts marvelous character, comfortable rooms, and creative artifacts. The views are stunning. The best feature of the home is the opportunity to spend time with Woodi and Johnny. Full and delicious breakfasts, cocktails on the porch, and charming conversation. Woodi is exceedingly knowledgeable about the restaurants, and wineries in the area. She is connected with the local community and every recommendation for places to go and things to see proved "spot on". Johnny is a lifelong Nelson resident, and a wealth of information about local sailing events and local waters. We had a delightful time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakefield Quay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakefield Quay House

Property: Wakefield Quay House
Address: 385 Wakefield Quay | Port Hills, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Undoubtedly the best seaviews in Nelson! Watch the ships and yachts in the Nelson harbour from the spacious sunny decks with a complimentary glass or two of Nelson wine. This lovely 1905 historic villa has a contemporary interior mixed with antiques and original New Zealand artworks. Queen seaview ensuite rooms, big fluffy towels, flat screen TVs, ipods and docks, and free wi-fi. Superb panoramic sea to mountain views across Tasman Bay and the Nelson Lighthouse, including great sunset vistas. You can swim in the ocean right out front and stroll along the waterfront to The Boat Shed Cafe and Harbour Light Bistro. Rates include hosted complimentary drinks and nibbles from 6 to 7 each evening and a delicious cooked breakfast using the best local produce. We have two cats onsite so we hope you don't have an allergy to cats! Come and kick your shoes off and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wakefield Quay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing