We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully Unique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Ranked #6 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Unique”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed with Paulina for only one night,but so wish it had been for longer.
The beautiful cottage with its grass roof,the stream runninng past and the peaceful gardens .
Paulina is a most welcoming host and has very interesting stories to share of her life and work.
The breakfast table groans with the the best selection of food which is all organic and so very good.
The whole experience of staying at this most unique B&B will leave you planning your next visit.
We will be back to this paradise as soon as we can.
Thank You Paulina,you are inspiring.
All our love
Anna & Paul.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkshoes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    23
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
87
49
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I organised for our family group to stay in the beautiful Joya, and the comforts and tranquility of our accommodation well exceeded my expectations. Booking Joya was an easy and welcoming experience, from my first contact with Paulina, a truly generous-spirited and friendly host who made us feel right at home; the thoughtful extras on every front made for a very special stay indeed. I know that anyone who is lucky enough to stay here will want to return. Thank you very much indeed Paulina, you are a truly wonderful host.
I sincerely recommend "Joya" to anyone looking for a gorgeous and comfortable haven in Nelson.
Cheers, Jo.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the Garden Studio - you wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jah_wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Thank you, Jo.

Pleasure was mutual :)

I do notice that those who find their way here, often come through Tripadvisor and/or word of mouth. And that works well, both ways.
So, thank you for your contribution.
Hope to meet up again,
Paulina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

We stopped in Nelson on our recent road trip south and the iSite recommended this B&B. And what a find! Our room was amazing, Paulina was incredibly friendly and her breakfast a delight. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank podvodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Kia Ora to your both,

Thank you for your kind words and observations.
You are seasoned travellers which means that you can compare, and developed an eye for the things important to any traveller. I am glad you liked it here.
Aroha,
Paulina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My group of friends and I stayed in March 2012 for 1 night at Joya Garden. The 9 of us occupied the entire B&B. We arrived in Nelson at dusk and Paulina was waiting for us, worried why we haven't arrived! :) She showed us the rooms, got us settled in and suggested a few restaurants some blocks away where we could have our dinner. Her recommendation was spot on and we had a really lovely dinner at the town centre which was about 10 mins walk away.

The rooms were clean, warm and inviting. Bathroom was spotless and beautifully decorated. The grounds and the house were absolutely beautiful when we saw them properly the next morning. Taking advice from the tripadvisor reviews, we got breakfast included for the stay and it was absolutely AMAZING!

Paulina makes all the breakfast items and they are organic, healthy and very very good. We had fresh juice, freshly baked bread, home-made jams & butter, omelettes, yogurts, fruits etc. We were still talking about the breakfast at the end of trip. :)

Paulina is a lovely host - she shared with us about the therapy work she's doing and we had a wonderful time talking to her and singing in the den after breakfast - what a way to start the morning!

The next time I'm back in Nelson - it'll definitely be Joya Garden. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenetcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISTCHURCH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Staying at Joya was a fantastic experience, from start to finish. From my first contact with Paulina... (my initial booking enquiry was answered promptly), right through to being dropped off at the bus station on departure, Paulina was generous and thoughtful.

As a solo traveller, I booked into The Den. However, upon arrival Paulina ushered me down through the beautiful gardens to The Garden Studio - a free upgrade. Her generosity astounded me. I spent the afternoon and evening lazing in the hammock chair, basking in the sun and enjoying the mod cons of the apartment. The Garden Studio is tastefully and stylishly decorated. The many windows are well positioned so that the afternoon sun pours in, although Paulina had kindly put the underfloor heating on in case it became chilly later on. The studio overlooks a tranquil garden and, being separate from the villa, is very private.

After a great night's sleep I was spoilt with an organic breakfast, great company and a lift to the bus station. All in all a wonderful experience. I would wholeheartedly recommend Joya. It's in a beautiful spot and is the peaceful haven that'll most likely prove to be the highlight of anyone's trip. Thank you Paulina!

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Delighted with this! Thank you.
Happy to have been of service. You were more than welcome. I'm glad we did this upgrade and that you enjoyed the gardens. Be well, Paulina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Joya B&B in Nelson from 19 March 2012. We stayed in the fabulous Garden Studio which was quiet, spacious, clean and very modern.

When we were booking, Paulina was very helpful and provided us with a great deal for 3 nights including free breakfast on the first morning. We then catered for our own breakfasts after that which suited us perfectly as we were getting sick of big breakfasts after a week of touring in NZ. We also cooked our own dinner in the studio one night to take a break from dining out.

Paulina is a perfect host and ensured the organic breakfast that we had was also gluten free for my wife. It was a very hearty and healthy breakfast. We also enjoyed chatting with Paulina and she was very helpful with advice on places to go and suggestions for dining out in Nelson. She also let us use her internet so that we could get news from back home in Australia.

Provided you have a car, the location is ideal with parking off the street at the bottom of the driveway near the garden studio. The view from the studio’s private deck is very relaxing as it overlooks a small pond in a lovely garden. There are plenty of good restaurants within a short drive from the B&B. If possible, make sure you stay 3 nights in Nelson as there are lots of places to visit like Golden Bay, Kaiteriteri and Abel Tasman. The Huangshi Chinese Gardens as well as the Miyazu Gardens are both worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra cost, choose the garden studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeACTCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
So kind of you to think of Joya after all these months. I am glad you liked it here and appreciate you taking the time to do this. Be well, Paulina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Was looking for a quiet place to stay in nelson and this was perfect. Is about 10mins walk to the city centre. Nice, clean and tidy accomodation. All your expected mod cons and a lovely view. The owner was friendly and accomodating. Cost per night was the same as a cheaper motel but the accomodation was of a much higher quality. An excellent alternative to the usual accomodation choices.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracyathene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Greetings,
Glad you liked this quirky place! And thanks for your review. Much appreciated!
Paulina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joya Garden & Villa Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joya Garden & Villa Studios

Property: Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Address: 49 Brougham Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Joya Garden & Villa Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique property and ideal for the discerning, eco-minded traveller: Situated in a quiet, upmarket area of central Nelson, Joya comprises a ground floor studio apartment in a three story heritage villa and a log studio - with grass roof - set in gardens with various water features. Both studios are self-contained. An optional organic breakfast can be served in the villa or on its main deck,which has a view of the city. Extensive in-and outdoor living from both studios. All water to the property passes through a filtering system for chlorine free drinking and bathing. For those staying in the villa itself breakfast is included in the rates. The Villa Room - with balcony - as well as the Den - are on the top floor. They are good value for money rooms but do not have an ensuite. Joya has had consistent top ratings for several years. Great hospitality, great location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Joya Garden & Villa Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing