We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Ranked #5 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We initially booked the villa room but were upgraded to the garden studio on arrival. Thanks Paulina you made my partner happy to have an en-suite, after the last place we stayed at promised us a en-suite in the booking but only could provide a share bathroom a long way from the bedroom. We were very impressed with the home & landscaping design of the garden studio in which we found inspiring. Great place to stay would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPVogler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Kia Ora,

Thank you for your review. Hope that you keep me posted with regards to the implimentation of some of the things we talked about regarding the use of Feng Shui principles .
I sincerly enjoyed the exchange and wish you well. Regards, Pauina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed four nights in the Villa Studio with our toddler and baby. Although open plan, there was loads of space for us all to sleep and spread out (including an enormous double bed!), and the outside area was perfect for us to relax in once the children were in bed. Paulina couldn't have been more helpful, bringing us books and toys to keep our son amused, and configuring the room with our best interests in mind. Just a small consideration if staying with young children and you are unable to get out in the evening - the kitchen area is fine for making breakfast but not really best suited to preparing evening meals. No problem for us - we just ate out earlier with the kids or got takeaway! We had a lovely, relaxing stay, in beautiful surroundings, and left feeling much refreshed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgieBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Kia Ora!
Thank you for these kind words.
I am glad you had a good time.

Travelling with a baby and toddler isn't the easiest undertaking. It is good you managed so well, and not just here at Joya. With regards to the kitchen facilities, I think it is indeed good advice that those who really want to do some more elaborate home-cooking, it is better to choose for the Garden Studio, since the kitchen is bigger there. The villa studio does have an electric wok and three hotplates, but working space and storage is limited. So thanks for mentioning this.
And thanks for this contribution to Joya's good ratings.. Much appreciated! Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed in an apartment in the rear garden, it really was quite delightful with the sound of water to send you off to sleep. You may need some insect repellant as there is a lot of water around the front door, not perhaps a place for a toddler.
Owner is great giving us some good suggestions on where to go in our time in Nelson.
Breakfast is very natural with most of the food home made, which my wife enjoyed perhaps more than myself, however you could eat as much as you wanted too.
Wifi worked better up in the main house than in our apartment even with the boaster kit.
Overall it's a good place to stay and value for money

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freeman5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Greetings! And thank you for this kind contribution.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfasts , even though the food offered may have been a bit different :)
With regards to the water features and the pond. I specifically had those made with my little guests/clients in mind. With regards to musquitoes: no worries, the water is recyclied between the two ponds. And the fish who live in the pond feed on whatever larvae that might still find a way to hatch. We really rarely see, hear or worse feel them.. Still it's good to realize though that there is pond on the other side of the deck to the Garden Studio.. Even though it is shallow - 40 cm - there are risks. So, your contribution in that respect is certainly valuable. I am glad you enjoyed your time at the WOW and Rabbit Island. Enjoy the remainder of this journey and come home safely.
Ciao, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Paulina let us stay in her garden studio which was separate from the house and in the attractively designed terraced garden with a pond surrounded by lush vegetation and fed from a stream. The studio was well appointed and comfortable with its own kitchen facilities. Breakfast was in the main house also with a fine view down the garden. To describe it as comprehensive would be an understatement. It was carefully prepared by Paulina and was delicious with very good, healthy and often home produced food. Joya Gardens is in an older and interesting residential part of the town the centre of which can be easily reached on foot.

Room Tip: Ignore pool and fitness centre ratings. Touched in error. They don't exist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for this contribution to Joya's good ratings!
Much appreciated! :)

I am glad you had a good time here and am pleased you took the time to write this review.
Be well, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

A few minutes’ walk up the hill from the commercial district of Nelson, Joya is a really basic but nice accommodation. It is an older home which has had significant renovations done by the current owner. We had a second story room, with shared bath during our two nights here. On a little balcony adjoining the room was a minifridge, pot for boiling water, and toaster oven, shared with the next door guests. The owner is the author of several books about New Zealand life, and is a transplant from the Netherlands with her two sons. She provided us a number of good recommendations about where to eat and what to see. There is a cool art gallery called Suter with a nice café not too far away; the botanical garden from 1891 or so is well kept and home to countless varieties of trees, flowers, and shrubs; it is well worth a walk through.

Breakfast went well beyond the continental variety, with our host cooking up anything we asked. She provided a lot of interesting conversation during our visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Just to let you know that I value your review.
Not just with regards to joya, but on the whole. I think Tripadvisor has an interesting role to play since contributions are for as well as by travellers.
So, keep on going! :)
Just one thing about the books: there might be a bit of misunderstanding there. I do write, but not related to New Zealand.:)
Best, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We had the good fortune to get the Garden Studio, which is separate from the main house and next to a tranquil pond and beautiful garden. The Garden Studio is almost like a house in and of itself with a kitchen, eating area and elevated sleeping quarter. Paulina is a doting, caring and very generous host. The breakfast must be one of the best in all New Zealand, and it is certainly also one of the healthiest! One feels very welcome and at home, and conversations with Paulina are very stimulating. Try to spend more than just one night here - it is worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellentonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Greetings,
Thank you for this kind review. I do appreciate the mention of 'an oasis' .
Considering that one is close to the heart of town, it's indeed quite special to get this sort of quiet and ambiance. i am glad you enjoyed it and thank you for your willingness to write this.\Warm regards, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We loved this guesthouse, the service is invisible, open doors and welcoming smiles, great, healthy breakfast and inspiring conversations around the table, with other guests but most of all with Pauline, beautiful garden and we still don't know if it was a cherry plum tree or a plum cherry!
Marita My/Nl

Room Tip: all rooms are just plain excellent, but the best and biggest is the garden studio, some rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marita h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Greetings,
Isn't it nice to "get more than one can wish for".
Much appreciated. My apologies though for responding this late.
It's been busy as you can imagine, but that still is no excuse, although I know you understand!
Warmly, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
493 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joya Garden & Villa Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joya Garden & Villa Studios

Address: 49 Brougham Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: £75 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Joya Garden & Villa Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique property and ideal for the discerning, eco-minded traveller: Situated in a quiet, upmarket area of central Nelson, Joya comprises a ground floor studio apartment in a three story heritage villa and a log studio - with grass roof - set in gardens with various water features. Both studios are self-contained. An optional organic breakfast can be served in the villa or on its main deck,which has a view of the city. Extensive in-and outdoor living from both studios. All water to the property passes through a filtering system for chlorine free drinking and bathing. For those staying in the villa itself breakfast is included in the rates. The Villa Room - with balcony - as well as the Den - are on the top floor. They are good value for money rooms but do not have an ensuite. Joya has had consistent top ratings for several years. Great hospitality, great location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Joya Garden & Villa Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing