We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Nelson(Nelson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
219
23
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
23
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic breakfastthe main househummusb bginger teaabel tasmanpeaceful oasiswonderful gardenshared bathroomsmall pondfelt instantlyan excellent hostrelaxing stayhome mademueslisingle bedlovely home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We spent 3 nights in garden studio. It was beautiful and fantastic, in addition it made us feel relax and peaceful. Joya is perfect place for us by wonderful atomosphore and Paulina's hospitality.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank uri_uri_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We spent four nights in the Garden Villa at the end of March/early April. Arrived late in the evening after a long tiring drive from Punakaiki and were given a warm welcome from Paulina. We were very pleased with our accommodation which was very private with access to the lovely gardens.

The first morning's breakfast in the main house was included in the rate for the Garden Villa and Paulina put on an excellent spread of food - very healthy - even included bee pollen. Apart from that one meal, we catered for ourselves in the Garden Villa.

Easy to walk into Nelson from Joya or to drive as parking is fairly easy. We didn't get the most out of Nelson really as my husband had a broken leg. We enjoyed driving through the Abel Tasman National Park and had a nice picnic lunch at Kaiteriteri overlooking the beach and wonderful sea views. After that we drove through the high and slightly scary (if you don't like heights) and bendy road over mountain ranges to Takaka which I would thoroughly recommend as a very interesting area - very attractive valley surrounded by unusually shaped mountains. Would recommend tea in "Takaka Infusion", a tea-house and bakery outlet run by a German couple.

The Garden Studio is well furnished and a lovely relaxing place to stay. Only criticism is the poor quality electric two-ring cooker. They are never great to cook anything on.

All in all, I would definitely recommend staying at Joya, whether in the Studio or the main house. Paulina is a lovely lady who will make you very welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegetariantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

What a wonderful find. Walking distance to town centre, yet in a quiet secluded street. Well appointed rooms to accommodate the family. Beautiful gardens to relax in. Very generous host - with her breakfasts and her information for days out. Would definitely return to Joya - it would be a pleasure.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
Thank Em66BedfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We really enjoyed Nelson and found it a great base for a long day trip to Abel Tasman National Park. It seemed like a really liveable little town.

Joya was a really pleasant place to stay. Peaceful, beautiful private gardens and a wonderful view. A very friendly black cat came to say hello while I was relaxing on the outdoor sofa.

It was one of the more expensive places we stayed, however the studio (attached to the main house) was very spacious.

Paulina seems like a very warm and welcoming person, and on noticing that I was pregnant, provided me with some relevant printed materials and a CD relating to the 'listening' theories and practices she is involved with. A nice touch.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Mish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Our one sentence pretty much sums it up. We felt at home enough to be ourselves and come and go. An unobtrusive sort of balance between privacy and being at a B and B.

The breakfast was fulsome and Paulina offered a good range of choices. The price was very reasonable ad we peeked at the other rooms and agreed we would come back and sleep just well in any one of them - we like the simplicity in design.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loelje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews