We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis of tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Ranked #4 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“oasis of tranquility”
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Note: Joya is not a Hotel. Joya is at a private residence and has a room, a studio, and a separate cottage for guests. Located at the top of a small hill in an upscale neighborhood and overlooking the town of Nelson, Joya feels like a cocoon of comfort and relaxation. Immediately after arriving, we wished to cancel our other plans and stay here to soak it up and relax. We stayed in the villa studio - which felt more roomy than our entire home! Expansive, lots of windows letting in natural light, a patio with sofa and chairs, a kitchen, beautiful garden - we were not left wanting at all. Paulina, the hostess, is very kind, interesting, and helpful and gauges perfectly the right level of attention to give the guest without ever intruding. The 1.2 km walk to the Trafalgar St core of town is a pleasant way to get a feel for the town.. We'd stay here again without hesitation and recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom_and_Teri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    23
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
88
49
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the villa studio and enjoyed this lovely place (big apartment & wonderful garden). After traveling on the south island this was a very good place to relax.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Joya is a wonderful place to relax, unwind, and take in the natural beauty of the area. The house and villas are just beautiful and Paulina is helpful in every way. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolamagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We stayedi in the garden studio for 2 nights. The studio is very well appointed and Pauline has thought of everything! She also provided an excellent breakfast in her house.We thought it might be too light in the morning but found we slept well despite a 5 hours time difference from W Australia. The only thing to watch are the steps between the bed area and the bathroom/living area.The garden is a delight. We were also able to access broadband via thoughtfully provided cable. If you want somewhere a bit different in Nelson- this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MreMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Angie and I couldn't have chosen a more homely place to stay....peaceful and quite delicious....I am a gardener designer, so all I wanted to do was be in the garden and listen to the water and soak up the tranquility. Thank you Paulina, we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruggedtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nowhere
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My stay at the Joya Center was wonderful from beginning to end! I stayed in the Villa Studio for one lovely week and then returned again for another week! The gardens are inspiring - the fountain providing a magical and soothing sound to compliment the beautiful scenery. Both weeks were quiet, peace-filled, and very relaxing. The bed is amazing, with a large window overlooking the gardens, making it hard not to take an extra hour or two in the mornings for a long lay in!

Lovely Downtown Nelson is just minutes away on foot and Paulina is a wealth of information for things to do in the area. She is a very gracious host and takes great pleasure and pride in serving her guests. I would HIGHLY recommend this place to any visitor. It would be a FABULOUS place for a long-term stay because the rooms come with all of the necessary counter-top size kitchen needs to cook your own meals - two burner stove, oven, toaster, fridge, etc. etc. etc. If you're a business person or student or other traveler with longer-term housing needs in the Nelson area, this is the best place for you. You can have as much or little quiet and privacy as you want and since you can do your own cooking, you don't have to eat out - but should you want to, Paulina can direct you to the eating 'gems' in the area.

I stayed at the Joya Center both as a guest and as a 'patient' of Paulina's Listening Center - a center that uses the Tomatis Method to help heal various kinds of dis-abilities. This is the hidden (and brightest) joy in the name Joya Center. I won't go into details here, but Paulina has details about the Listening Center in all of the rooms. I encourage you to read the pamphlets. If you or anyone you care about is in need of healing, please talk to Paulina.

Should your stay at Joya be for a couple of nights or (like me) for the longer term, you won't leave feeling sorry for having stayed at Joya Center.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jldNowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The location and setting of Joya Villa cannot be faulted. A wonderful setting on the hill overlooking Nelson. We stayed in the Villa attached to the main house. The accomodations are very comfortable and spacious. Our host Paulina was very friendly in helping us get acquainted with the sights of Nelson.
The only down-side to our stay is that the unit is below the main house, and with wooden floorboards you can hear every step staken by people above. Not a big stress but we never quite adjusted to NZ time and so found ourselves trying to sleep while people were very much up and about on the floor above.

I will definitely return to Nelson and Joya, next time I would love to stay in the Garden Villa.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
669 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.5 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joya Garden & Villa Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joya Garden & Villa Studios

Property: Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Address: 49 Brougham Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Joya Garden & Villa Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique property and ideal for the discerning, eco-minded traveller: Situated in a quiet, upmarket area of central Nelson, Joya comprises a ground floor studio apartment in a three story heritage villa and a log studio - with grass roof - set in gardens with various water features. Both studios are self-contained. An optional organic breakfast can be served in the villa or on its main deck,which has a view of the city. Extensive in-and outdoor living from both studios. All water to the property passes through a filtering system for chlorine free drinking and bathing. For those staying in the villa itself breakfast is included in the rates. The Villa Room - with balcony - as well as the Den - are on the top floor. They are good value for money rooms but do not have an ensuite. Joya has had consistent top ratings for several years. Great hospitality, great location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Joya Garden & Villa Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing