We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Corporate Traveler” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Crest Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Carterton, New Zealand
1 review
“Corporate Traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I have stayed here every couple of months for the pass 6 years. As a business traveler Bay Crest Motel has every thing you could need. I would happily stay here on holiday too! Anton & Silvia (hosts) have been very accommodating over the years and I love how close Bay Crest is to the beach. Lovely rooms, very clean, comfortable and have always looked forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynk310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    39
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
117
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
near Toronto
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and the weather was great. The managers were very accommodating, as we only booked one night and then extended our stay. They even gave us a towel to go to the beach which is a short walk away.

The room is very clean and comfortable and has everything you'd want. The room was large and bright. This is in a residential area but you can hear the planes from the airport - however they don't take off very late at night. In the morning the planes do start around 7.

There are restaurants not too far - about 10 to 15 minutes walk. We went to The Lounge which was very good and reasonably priced.

We drove one day to Abel Tasman and then toured Nelson another day. We walked into Nelson along the water and took the town bus back - this was a full day. We really enjoyed it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor which has a common balcony. Also we decided on a larger room for $10 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Face1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
170 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in March 2013. The rooms were incredibly clean and well appointed with everything you need for a short stay. The owners go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and nothing is a problem for them.
As you are located close to the airport you do hear the planes but this is not a problem. You are approx 1.2km walk to restaurants, cafes, bars at Tahuna.
Would definitely stay again and highly recommend to others wanting a clean motel with great service at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 19 which was upstairs and got plenty of sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicnevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Like previous reviewers we could not fault the room for facilities and cleanliness. We were surprised how far out of Nelson it is - some 5kms. It is also under the flight path with airport almost next door and the main road is quite noisy till late. And we could hear our neighbours tv and phone calls! All that said though it was a very comfortable place for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have views so try for those
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcanddp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

The atomsphere at the Motel was great, the room was the cleanest I've ever stayed in whilst I travelled New Zealand. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well lit. The manager and host was more than helpful, showing me where everything in Nelson was, and even picking me up from the airport.... for free!

Room Tip: Choose a upstairs room and book direct from the Motels website or phone number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in an upstairs studio which had been upgraded from a downstairs one. Was bigger than most studios we have stayed in and was very comfortable with all modern fittings and furnishings. It was very clean and the welcome by Silvia, the host was very friendly and informative.
Yes you do get the odd aeroplane flying overhead but the motel is located near the airport but it didn't detract from the stay. Would definitely recommend this motel and we will be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarknJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Was a friendly and welcoming atomsphere, the room was a good size, well equipped and meticulously clean. Was a short walk from the beach and near several good restaurants. The hosts were more than helpful, answering any questions we had and even drove us to the airport free of charge. Would highly recommend it to anyone...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.4 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.4 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Crest Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Crest Motor Lodge

Property: Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Address: 87 Golf Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Crest Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bay Crest Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing