We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice - Incredibly Helpful Owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Crest Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice - Incredibly Helpful Owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were delighted with our 3-night stay at Bay Crest. It was somewhat further from the city center than we expected, but no more than 8-10 minutes by car and there were nearby options for dining and groceries. All of the rooms were large and recently redone with new furniture, countertops and efficient kitchen facilities. There was some road noise during the afternoon, and the airport was close by, but all of the noise fell away during nightime and early morning hours. As it turns out, I suffered a knee injury during my visit to Nelson. The motel owner, Phil, could not have been more caring and helpful, a genuinely nice man with a warm laugh and a generous spirit. I don't expect you to spend two days icing your injury, but it was rewarding to know that a local owner was very much in your corner. We would definitely choose this place if we visited the Nelson area again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    39
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
117
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very Hospitable and excellent service,quality accommodation !!!
Next time I'm back in Nelson i would stay at the Bay Crest again
was lucky to have a spa bath in my room,modern features and
enough space in the room for a party to be had ,Thanks for the great stay.

Room Tip: was on ground floor and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MR T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for work while working on the raroa. The room was perfect it was modern. Clean. And spacious. The team at baycrest are awesome! Very welcoming and helpful. Would totally recommend this place!!! The location is spot on not too far away :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Skiwi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed at Bay Crest for a little over 3 weeks, during which time I was working full-time night shifts at Port Nelson.
The unit was clean, quiet and well-appointed, and the owner Phil went out of his way to fit around my anti-social shifts in servicing the unit.
In addition to all the other help, Phil and his wonderful staff even took my laundry every other day, returning it to my unit washed, dried and folded.
I will definitely look to stay here anytime I am back in the Nelson area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasBRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have been going to this Motor lodge for the past four years, approximately every 4 weeks. Sylvia and Anton, have the CLEANEST units I have ever been in, as well as being comfortable (great beds!!)
The Motel is a shortwalk to the estuary/beach, and only ten minutes walk to main beach.
NO TRAFFIC NOISE!!! Yay! I will miss going here. Thank you for looking after me and making me always feel at home!
I recommend this place to anyone who asks where to stay in Nelson.

Room Tip: The studio units have bigger spa baths...but Room 20 is upstairs, has a separate bedroom, and you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorrah68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I have stayed here every couple of months for the pass 6 years. As a business traveler Bay Crest Motel has every thing you could need. I would happily stay here on holiday too! Anton & Silvia (hosts) have been very accommodating over the years and I love how close Bay Crest is to the beach. Lovely rooms, very clean, comfortable and have always looked forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynk310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Toronto
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and the weather was great. The managers were very accommodating, as we only booked one night and then extended our stay. They even gave us a towel to go to the beach which is a short walk away.

The room is very clean and comfortable and has everything you'd want. The room was large and bright. This is in a residential area but you can hear the planes from the airport - however they don't take off very late at night. In the morning the planes do start around 7.

There are restaurants not too far - about 10 to 15 minutes walk. We went to The Lounge which was very good and reasonably priced.

We drove one day to Abel Tasman and then toured Nelson another day. We walked into Nelson along the water and took the town bus back - this was a full day. We really enjoyed it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor which has a common balcony. Also we decided on a larger room for $10 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Face1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.4 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.4 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Crest Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Crest Motor Lodge

Property: Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Address: 87 Golf Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Crest Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Crest Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing