We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Loved every minute”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Phil was very accommodating, always aimed to please. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bay Crest. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, all the comforts of home. We certainly shall return whenever in that part of the country.

Room Tip: Upstairs with a table and chairs out on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 699jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    41
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
122
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Phil put us up for a three weeks in September last year when The Raroa was in the Port Of Nelson for major repairs. After speaking with other crew members who were spread out across Nelson we definitely had the top spot! Quite (great for nightshift!). Very modern spacious rooms with everything you need, the cleaners do an amazing job keeping the place immaculate with off street parking. Phil is an excellent host who looked after us, with things we needed and information.
Thanks very much mate your a legend and will see you again soon.
Highly Recommend A+++

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We enjoyed are first night stay so much that we returned to Nelson two more times during our travels and stayed at the Bay Crest. Phil (the owner) was very accommodating to all of our needs. Our room was modern, very clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Had a great 5 nights here. Very clean comfortable motel. Very hospitable owner. Provided towels for beach every day. Supplies toiletries coffee, tea etc renewed every day. had agreat time. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were so pleased with our stay at the Bay Crest that we extended a night. There was even a handy laundry room on the premises, and the helpful manager even transferred our load from the washer to the dryer while we went to dinner. The room was spacious and clean and the bed very comfortable. We were so glad to have made the choice to stay at the Bay Crest Motor Lodge in Nelson.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reutlingen
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Clean and modern room equipped with everything needed. Huge Balcony with lot of sun. Free and good WIFI. Good Location, not far from Airport, Tahunanui Beach in Walking distance. Enjoyed our stay very much

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gernreisender727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I am a company rep, and it took me a long time to find decent accommodation close to Tahuna Beach..... I'm here every 2 weeks and here are the reasons I choose Bay Crest Motor Lodge:

"Bay Crest" is:
-Friendly
-Extremely Clean, tidy and Modern
-Very good value for money
-Constantly good patrons (yes this makes a huge difference)
-Quiet
-Fantastic hosts with great local knowledge.

Thanks, I totally recommend a few nights here!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, the studios are probably the most modern, value for money in the South Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
670 reviews
2.4 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
2.8 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.8 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
2.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#7 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Crest Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Crest Motor Lodge

Property: Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Address: 87 Golf Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Crest Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Crest Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing