We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations not fully met.”
Review of Boat Shed Cafe

Boat Shed Cafe
Ranked #7 of 179 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“High expectations not fully met.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had heard really good things about this place. The restaurant was a little noisy. The staff were helpful but were rushed. A pleasant meal and acceptable wine list . Food nicely cooked and presented. We left satisfied but certainly we did not with expectations on reputation satisfied.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    355
    94
    41
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Boat Shed Cafe Never Disappoints”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We always regard the Boat Shed as the place to go for a treat, and usually that will be for dinner when invariably we choose to "Trust the Chef". We are never disappointed in the Chef's selection of 6-7 superb dishes for the fixed price shown on the menu and think it reflects real value for money. We encourage everybody who comes with us to do this too and every one has been truly delighted. This week we chose to go for lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary so we could enjoy the sunshine and views out over the sparkling bay. We did not elect to go with the lunch time "Trust the Chef" option this time but we chose two different bruschetta (truly delicious and bursting with flavour) to start with followed by twice roasted pork belly which was crisp yet succulent and immensely satisfying and accompanied by just the right salad of apple and greens. We shared a side of superbly crunchy roast potatoes which complemented the pork beautifully, though probably to the detriment of our ability to manage a dessert, which regretfully we had no room for. The only complaint I could possibly find was that with the curtains rolled up, there was a slightly chill breeze (probably worse for me as I had just returned from warm tropical climes.) The staff are always willing to adjust things for the comfort of their guests however so this was quickly sorted. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipukurau, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was the best meal we had in Nelson - absolutely top notch. A lovely relaxed setting, quick service, not cheap but well worth the money charged.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WaipukRolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food....slow service”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The food and the view (overlooking the harbor at sunset) was very special but the service was painstakingly slow. Perhaps the person waiting our tables was new but it took forever to get food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank before75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A must to attend.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A wonderful setting over the water, rustic buliding, with views over the water. Well priced healthy food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wonderfulnelsonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boat Shed Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Boat Shed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing