We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, excellent cocktail menu - nice night out”
Review of Harry's Bar

Harry's Bar
Ranked #25 of 177 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good food, excellent cocktail menu - nice night out”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here, and the excellent cocktail menu. Food is Asian-Fusion style, and there were several options that looked good. The atmosphere is lovely, making this a nice night out in Nelson.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stokes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    63
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Always a good night”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Friday night at Harrys' is always a good night. Busy without being too full, good beer selection and the odd good cocktail or wine special. Chill salt squid is a firm favourite. All the meals and nice tasty snacks and not too filling. Managers' Howard and Beckie are attentive and well organized.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LivethedayNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

we booked for dinner as part of a winter festival school of music deal..what a fabulous place to go!we feel very fortunate to live local as it means we can go back again and again!we arrived at 6.30 and were immediatley seated at a very well appointed table.waiting staff were all pleasant and very obliging.service was slick and we found the place abuzz with friday night happy customers..loveiy warm athmosphere with great lighting..and interestingly whilst it was busy and kinda loud we could converse easily and actually couldnt hear detail in other conversations..whoever designed this place sure knew what they were doing..THE FOOD WAS AMAZING.....tasty tasty tasty...and the presentation spectacular..i had thier highly recomended chicken curry and husband the fish of the day..we ate from a menu provided for the occasion we were attending and also ordered the salt and pepper squid as an entree from the main menu...which seriously was dead tasty!!couple glasses of wine and two coffees later we left having been better looked after and happier than with any other dining experience weve had in nelson since arriving 12 years ago..cant wait to go back and will do as soon as possible..we just sorry its taken us far to long to discover what is truly a wondaful dining experience

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petals356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome Restaurant”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Fantastic place to have dinner with my husband. Was combined with a show ticket which was fantastic. Very friendly, great atmosphere. Amazing flavour filled food!!! Very well priced. Can't fault it. I live in Nelson and have never been, but will definitely be back, and will be raving about it to anyone wanting a nice place to eat out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place for Drinks & Dinner”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

On our first night in Nelson we went to Harry's - I loved the look of the place with a huge dark wood bar and and informal but comfortable dining area. We ordered cocktails first - and I'd thoroughly recommend the Gummi Bear cocktail - and I've become a bit of a cocktail expert and this was a very good one! With a Thai-inspired menu, we ordered the Lamb Massaman, fishcakes and a Chicken Larb. All the food was fabulous - particularly the Lamb Massaman - truly delicious! The staff were also incredibly friendly and helpful.

We had such a great experience we went back the next night with a business group - 12 of us. We arrived after 9pm and the restaurant had no problems accommodating us and delivered us delicious cocktails first and then an amazing selection of meals. On our recommendation, a few ordered the Lamb Massaman, I had a delicious Yellow Curry and my partner a Laksa. Reports from the whole group was that the food was delicious. They also had a nice wine list and some interesting beers. We left after midnight but some of our group was still there but the restaurant was very happy to continue serving drinks after dinner and were incredibly accommodating.

If I'm back in Nelson again, this will be my first stop. They've got everything right! Well done guys!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry's Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Harry's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing