We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Indian Cuisine”
Review of Little India

Little India
Ranked #33 of 177 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I regularily visit Indian restaurants and I have to say that this was the best Indian meal I ever had!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne_rey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    41
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently great Indian.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Try the Lamb pasanda, prawn kadai or the malai kofta as a vegitarian option.
The Lamb vindaloo is also excellent, and the barra kebab as a starter is out of this world.
Manny the owner & his wife are genuinely good people. We highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 36Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Indian Takeaway”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We decided to eat at home and get food from Little India. Service was prompt, 20 minutes they said, and it was exactly that. Food was excellent, Vindaloo could have been a little hotter, we will know better to ask for not so mild the next time.

Excellent service and food, if you like Indian food, you should like this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandiewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,591 reviews
776 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,160 helpful votes
“A slightly above average generic Indian”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

It definitely does not try to be pretentious, and the staff actually smile and make conversation. That is what makes it above average. On top of that, when I asked about freshly made masala chai, the waiter was honest enough o tell me it is made from a supermarket ready mix, but quickly offered to make me fresh ginger tea, which while not too great, definitely scored brownie points. Well, he was not your typical waiter in an Indian restaurant either. He had a masters in marketing, and was moonlighting here while waiting for his visa and job.

The food was typical, a bit on the greasy side, but the naan and the tandoori roti were excellent ( I had asked for them to be crispy). The pakoras were refried / reheated, and disappointing. Pricing was reasonable by the high NZ standards, and no tipping gimmickry here unlike some places on the North Island. Location is bang in the center, though on a Mnnday night, it was dead.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
185 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A true family affair”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

If you like Indian food then this is the place to head for in Nelson. The owners originally came from the Punjab region of North India so their menus reflect the legendary Indian food dishes of this area. In fact
the recipes used have come from the kitchen of the owner’s grandmother who has also trained every one of Little India's head chefs (there are seventeen restaurants throughout New Zealand) in her own kitchen in Chandigarh.

We ordered a take-away whilst staying in a self-catering studio and the food was amazingly fresh, hot, and delivered on time by one of the staff. And yes, it tasted wonderfully authentic. I can recommend the vegetable samosa, onion bhajis, bhuna chicken, and lamb dhansak. The rice and Naans were superb too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little India also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing