We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great place to eat”
Review of Morri Street Cafe

Morri Street Cafe
Ranked #19 of 177 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Multiple Winner of Best Cafe in Nelson. Bright, busy cafe in an historic building in central Nelson. Strong following of loyal locals but plenty to entice visitors as well. The menu changes seasonally and focuses on fresh, natural flavours that build on a number of ethnic cuisine styles. Our breakfasts have a large fan base with favourites like the Bacon & Eggs and our Pancakes staying on the menu year after year. Lunch includes fresh Salad Bowls, tasty Chicken Satay and the ever popular Pad Thai. There's plenty of fresh baking each day, a healthy kids menu and our coffee is excellent. There are lots of options for wheat, gluten & dairy sensitive people and vegetarians as well.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always a great place to eat”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Food is always very good, different and imaginative, served beautifully.
Only drawback is that when they are really busy it is very noisy inside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn7150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    132
    43
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great service and food.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We visited twice for breakfast.....great breakfast/brunch menu, great coffee and good gluten free selection and will adjust meals to suit. Service was good and staff very friendly. Defo recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAFYDDHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Was recommended this cafe however unfortunately we did not have a good experience at all. Was sitting outside with my family for 30 minutes and not served so decided to go somewhere else. What was even more disappointing was that a gentleman next to us that was served was spoken to rudely by a staff member and was not looked after.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tevers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Taste Of Nelson”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Ravenously hungry after the plane's wheels hit the tarmac, we quickly buzzed our way to one of the best cafes in Nelson (according to trip advisor) that was reasonably priced and near our location. This place was the perfect start to our holiday.

Ordering the Antipasto Platter, Eggs & Toast and Gumbo with an attentive waiter, it was a small wait until our stomachs were greeted with much-needed brunch. The Antipasto platter was stunning, a rich diversity of breads, cheeses and meats. The breads were memorable in particular as they were homemade and simply divine. Sister's eggs were good with nice bread and the Gumbo unfortunately was just a bit too spicy for Dad but still tasty.

Overall a nice place in a great location and I would recommend the platter as a tasty brunch/lunch for two.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iridescent_Opal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for Sunday breakfast”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great range of yummy food, at reasonable prices. The eggs were plump and the bacon very tasty, not to mention great coffee. Service was great, and I will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunsoakerNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morri Street Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Morri Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing