We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu, great food and Service”

The Tides Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #16 of 180 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have dined at The Tides several times over the last year for special occasions as it is a bit on the pricey side. We are always happy with the food and the service. There are so many meal options and they do cater well for children even tho it is a quiet restaurant with mainly adult diners. The view is nice too over looking the river. Can't wait to return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback. It is great to hear our guests have enjoyed
their dining experience in the Tides Restaurant, and we look forward to seeing you
again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 207 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Surprised my thoughts are so different to other reviewers. In general I thought the servings were overpriced and undersized. My fish of the day was tasty enough, but very small. My wife's Ribeye ordered m/rare was delivered med+ and was chewy. At $37 + $4.5 for veges we felt underwhelmed. Dessert was perfectly acceptable and meant we felt the evening was not a disaster. As set menus the food becomes acceptable value for money but as a la carte, definitely plenty of better options out there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlie965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Tides Restaurant and Bar. Guest feedback is vital to us, and we take your comments very seriously. We are very sorry to hear you found our serving size for the Fish of the day to be insufficient, and also apologise for your wife's steak. We try to price our menu fairly, taking into consideration staff, menu selection and venue, so once again our apologies if you consider otherwise. Our set menu options are very popular, and always available, offering 2 courses for $39.90, or 3 courses for $44.90. Nice to hear our desserts saved the day, and thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I dine out on a fairly frequent basis in our home town of Nelson and are always looking for that restaurant, that offers that, "little bit more".
Well we can assure you, you won't be disappointed with the Tides Restaurant & Bar.
The staff never fail to impress and are genuinely friendly and helpful without being "in your face" so to speak.
The atmosphere with the river flowing beside the Restaurant is very delightful and compliments the overall feeling you get when dining here. The bar is attached to the Restaurant, but does not intrude on the diners. It is also very well stocked and cater for all requests.
The wine selection is extensive and includes numerous well known local varieties.
As far as the meals are concerned, well the selection is amazing. This menu caters for all taste buds including delicious fresh fish of the day catches. A variety of meat dishes including very tasty steaks that really do melt in your mouth, as well as other options too many to list.
The real treat for us was the absolutely delicious deserts. Stunningly presented and tastes you can't explain in writing. You simply cannot leave this place without eating there deserts.
So if you are looking for a semi formal Restaurant that you want to take guests to, or are wanting something that little bit more up-market without breaking the bank, then we would strongly recommend giving the Tides a try. You won't be disappointed. We will certainly be frequenting this Restaurant again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nzk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback of the Tides Restaurant online.
We love to hear our guests have enjoyed their evening with us,and look forward
to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

nice romantic evening. staff were friendly and helpful.l nice menu with plenty of choice, well presented and cooked.

Thank geoffrey180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review of the Tides Restaurant and Bar, and lovely to hear you enjoyed
your birthday celebration with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went out for dinner at the Tides Restaurant. Very professional and helpful staff, food was quick to be served and tasted absolutely amazing! I've been out to other restaurants but The Tides food is of higher quality and you can taste the difference. Would dine out there again in the future!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aemilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, and we look forward to seeing you again in the
future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tides Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Tides Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing